You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Distribution of reputation levels 2017-12-27 / Verteilung der Reputationslevel 27.12.2017

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for these surprising stats. Im curious how many of those profile are dead and how many logged in last month... anyway it looks like we should help 25ers even more in order to help steemit grow.

Sort:  

I will continue to investigate what is going on with these many 25s.
What I find out, is that the first step from level 25 to 26 is much bigger, than the step from 26 to 27.

it just counts all (25) profiles that were created but never really used.. most users just try one post and if it doesnt work they give up..

Just a shot from the hip here, but I would guess there are a lot who took a look at the platform and thought "eh, I'll sign up. Can't hurt," and then just never got interested enough to sign in again.
For instance, I opened my account a few weeks ago but didn't post anything until yesterday because as soon as I saw there was a crypto involved I felt like I had to go research "what in the blazes is a cryptocurrency" before even posting. I was afraid I'd wind up losing money.
Others may be more tech-savvy than I was, but I would imagine the phenomenon of "hey, new website! Cool!" and then never returning again, is probably commonplace. With more traditional social media platforms, such an account would simply go offline after being dormant for X number of days, but with Steemit I don't even know if that is possible, and that's a bit of a problem (or so it seems to me, without a lot of knowledge on the subject) because with every new user automatically being issued an amount of STEEM when they open an account, isn't there a lot of this currency just sitting around?
And if that's true, doesn't that have an impact on the value of the currency (to say nothing of the value of the site experience itself)?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28