The good, the bad and the ugly Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

 The good

Steemit sounds very ideal and good solution for social media especially if the content gets more diverse and there would be topics for everyone’s interest. It also offers good change for those who love writing or keep blogs to have a nice way to earn some money while doing it.   

The bad

I have been now watching steemit for some days now and trying to see how it “really” works. It has really made me question if steemit really is yet ready to success or not, no don’t get me wrong as I really hope this will grow and to be huge success, but the facts are that either this thing works still in very closed circle and only the “big fishes” vote other “big fishes” in here and us small ones are are just ignored or other possibility is that for some reason everyone in Steemit just upvotes any post connected to Steemit itself except i dont believe this post gets any votes as it is critical about Steemit ;)

The fact is that other content in here really gets nearly no attention (except the famous makeup video and very very few other) and I have good example of one of those: my wife @Joysky188 CNC router build she had worked with for some weeks and shared it in here. The post just disappeared somewhere and didn’t get any attention at all (and there are so many similar good posts and content with same results). Of course it could be that most of the people in Steemit at moment are just only interested in Steemit itself and that is the reason they upvote any post connected to it and who knows maybe later on it could change which again i hope as so far it's hard to find content which gets my true interest or maybe i am just too picky :))

The ugly

Dont get me wrong with all of this as i really love Steemit so far but this all leads to my real question: Is Steemit really going to be THE platform for any kind of content so that most of the people will stick with it or will it stay the same and people only share posts about Steemit itself? Of course I need to say that I am very new here and of course I could be wrong and I really wish for it, but at this moment this seems to be the ugly "truth" so far and I hope it will not cause the fall of Steemit at some point.

 #steemit #voting #steemit-potential #steem

Sort:  

Waiting to be a whale!!!! respekt bro

It's a wonderful experiment anyway, its the first time the crypto world reach so many new people....So hopefully things will settle with time. ..I am here for long....i just powered up my steem....

Yes its very inspiring experiment and i really love it and hope it to get huge. I love the idea that Steemit could bring cryptocurrency to be known for most of the people (Steemit is the first one for me too as i was too late to join in bitcoin). I also plan to stay long and power up my steem as much i can if ever i get change to earn through my writings though... ;)

I hope the devs fix the distribution of upvotes. $30,000 to a makup girl is unfair to the thousands of other steemers - you could give $30 to 1000 people and steemit only has 3000 users... its unfair and for most people. $30 a day is VERY good income!

Yes it is slightly unfair and disturbing and actually I like the idea of some kind earning limit and maybe that limit could be percentually adjusted depending the amount of your posts and your steem power (of course still it should have some kind of total maximum limit of example $1000 or even $5000). I believe that this could change in future with more people joining in.

Keep in mind steemit is built off steem. You don't need steemit to have a decentralized content driven blockchain because steem is already that. You can create your own website, own UI, own whatever using the content steemit is already providing us. This is why I believe steem will take us far. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64