Steemit Meetup

in #steemit7 years ago


Earlier this week @bella-volen-art (thank you!) brought to my attention that there would be a Steemit meetup on the weekend. So today our little circle of Steemit artists including @thermoplastic and @gric who most graciously gave me lift. When we arrived Steemians had already taken over half of the large cafe. There were one or two faces that I recognised from online.

We moved along the table and introduced ourselves as best we could, until at last we looked around for some where to sit. However, it was already so full we had to take a table away from the group. But, we were not left to our own devices for long as @nicoletta who is one of the organisers came over and welcomed us and informed us about how things were working. Once we'd ordered drinks and food, other curious and friendly Steemians came by to make our acquaintance.

We were informed that this was the largest Steemit meetup that they had yet. I estimate between 40 - 50 people. It was immediately apparent that the meetup had outgrown the cafe, so they were looking for suggestions for other locations that would be more conducive to people mingling and getting to know each other. I put forward the suggestion of hotel I know that accepts Bitcoin and even has a crypto cash machine in the reception. 

I was surprised to learn that number of the Steemians present, travel around to other cities for Steemit meetups. While of course I am well aware of the online Steemit communities, it was my first glimpse at the offline Steemit world. What I appreciated most was actually being able to meet the real people behind the online personas. It gives Steemit another whole dimension. I also now truly start to get the feel for a blockchain decentralised r/evolution.

It was wonderful to meet you all. I look forward to the next Steemit meetup. =)

Full Steem ahead!


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
My artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I wish I was there to meet you and gric :D

There's lots of other great people to meet also @trumpman. =)
Who knows, maybe there will be a Steemit meetup somewhere around the world where we cross paths.

Just come to greece for the summer!

Greece is on the bucket list. I have a friend living the Peloponnese who has been inviting me for years.

It was lovely😀. Knowing the person behind the profile is the best part. Internet and steemit shall be tools connect to reality but not replacing personal real time eye to eye interaction. @gexi recommend me a very cool iphone app for steemit: steemify, wonderful thing.
See you next time😁

Yes, I would agree, given the social media glut that we've had over the past decade, it is now time use the tool rather than allow the tool use us. Bis dann! =D

Steemify! Never heard of... Good to know. It's on my iphone now... :) Funktioniert. Fantastisch! Was es da noch alles zu entdecken gibt...

Find ich auch, erst jetzt merke ich wer, wo, was rechtzeitig😁

Wow awesome, I gotta see if there's some meetups in Montreal! I'm loving Steemit, so.. positive! Such a different vibe here, so many people making things happen!

It gives Steemit another dimension and makes it more personal. If you can't find a Montreal meetup, make one. =D

Holy .....
I´m looking forward too. :D
thanks for joining @leoplaw

I am very interested how you go with Hotel Schani.
http://hotelschani.com

Looking forward to see you at the next meetup! :)

was a great meeting - looking forward to next time!
I was going to ask you and Peter if you are going to Viechtach for Magical Dreams IV, but I forgot. I sure would want to go, since I missed the other opportunities to see the show. Opening in Wr. Neustadt I missed because I was travelling to Montreux the same day.

I won't be going to Viechtach. Kathrina will. Peter, I don't know.

nice that you attended todays meet up as well ;)
Really amazing how many people came :)

Hi and thank you @reconnectnature!
I was surprised how big the group was. I hope we find another location where it is easier to mingle so as to get to know each other better.

yeah the meetings are growing really quickly :)

me too ;)

Great to see the community is growing.... I hope I can attend next time!

I was wondering where you were. =)

Where did the meetup actually take place?

Habt ihr euch in Wien getroffen?

Vielleicht schaffen wir Hamburger auch mal bald eins :-)
Grüße in den Süden!

Na ja, dann schauen ob da schon einen Steemit Meetup in Hamburg gibt. Wann nicht, dann muss du es organiziern. =)
Grüße in den Norden!

Dear Leo Plaw, It was nice meeting you, thanks for your business card! CU the next time :)

You too @smallstepschange. I forgot I had my postcards with me. Next time I'll give some of those away. Greetings. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58