You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Art Of Commenting - How To Write Better Comments

in #steemit6 years ago

Problem with that is that a lot of "trending" or "hot" topics (where it might make a profit) are just damn uninteresting stuff. Either stuff you eat or crypto - if you are interested in that, there are other sides, after all.

And then there are the guys who don't even put a single picture in their generic post and still get 100$+ Like this
I don't WANT to comment there ;)

Sort:  

Yeah, that's the dark side of having a community for everything and a system can be abused the earlier you come to it (I still think it's fair, but I wish we could make it better.)

As for me, I don't check trending page... It's for the posts of the wealthy. Most of the good posts get around $0.00 to $12, if it got more than that it's probably curated by a group.

So what do I do?

  • I choose a specific tag (like #gaming but that's generic, #retrogaming is a good example).
  • Instead of Hot or Trending I check "new". Since the tag is specific, most of the posts in it would be made by people who actually care about the topic.
  • I choose to read only a post I like its title, thumbnail picture OR BOTH.
  • I choose who I follow carefully (mostly) I don't usually follow people who don't put effort in their writing.
  • I check my feed more, because I know people I follow write things I'm interested in.

Not the best things to do, but I currently manage with the system... Steemit is still in Beta and people suggest improvements all the time. I think we would have something like subreddits in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53