Grow steemit value by offering royalty-free stock photos by @leap8

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

grow-steem-value.png

Hello Steemians,

I would like to present something that I believe will grow the value of STEEM and steemit.com as a whole.

Opportunity

There is a huge community of graphic designers, web designers, and bloggers online looking for free stock photos. There is also a large community on steemit posting their photos online. Royalty-free stock photos are in very high demand and the audience that is looking for them is perfect to target to join steemit. Web designers and bloggers are already in the habit of posting online. It’s actually a lot more difficult to make money from blogging outside of steemit. There are a lot more moving pieces involved with promotion and setting up your own web site. A huge learning curve is cut if they simply switch to steemit.

The photography tag has over 80,000 posts on it already and many of those photos are of high quality and could be used by others in their designs and blogs outside of steemit.

tag_numbers.png

One of the most popular web sites for free stock photos, https://pixabay.com/ gets over 60 million visits per month.

pixabay-traffic.png

So, steemit has a large supply of something that’s in high demand. Now, all that’s left is making it work.

How will it work?

Certain rules will have to be followed for free stock photos to be posted.

  1. Post only your own images with the highest resolution available.
  2. Post a disclaimer stating that “this image is copyright free and is released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes it safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes” https://creativecommons.org/choose/zero/
  3. Use a royalty-free tag
  4. Provide camera information if available
  5. Use image tags that describe the image inside the post with a hashtag. I.e. #yellow #sun
  6. Make a statement encouraging visitors to join steemit so they can follow your posts for more free photos

Future Development

Once the use of the #royalty-free tag takes off, we can develop a web site on the steem blockchain like utopian.io, only will only show stock photos and users will be able to post their photos. On the front-end, this web site would look a lot like https://pixabay.com but will invite people to open a steemit account and be rewarded for their photos.

How does this add value to steemit?

• Access to a large collection of royalty-free stock photos will open up steemit to millions of bloggers and web designers who already post online but don’t necessarily make any money doing it.
• This will potentially result in millions of new visitors and new accounts.

How does this add value to STEEM?

• The more people visit steemit.com, the more people will know about STEEM, the cryptocurrency. This, in turn, will result in more investors and increase in market cap.
• Many web designers are freelancers and will potentially start accepting STEEM for their services. This will add value to STEEM as a currency.


I hope you found this post helpful. I see great potential in this community and technology and have many ideas about how it can grow and improve many lives that I will be sharing in my future posts. Let's leap over any obstacles that stand in our way!

Thank you :-) @leap8

Sort:  

That´s actually a very smart idea that may even work! ;) I hope this post reaches many people and I cheer you on!

Thank you! I hope I can get some steem ;-) behind so i can do more with this.

.. added some fuel to the fire - I mean steem to the machine ^^

thank you, friend :-)

Great post and wonderful idea. I'm always looking for freesource pics -- the selection out there, so far, isn't so great. Thanks for suggesting this.

Thank you for your support :-)

thank you :-) I hope it can take off!

Great idea, looking forward to the roll out. Good luck with it :)

thank you very much :-)

I have to admit one of my hare-brained ideas was about offering a monthly membership to copyright free photos, but a Steemit depository of Steemit users free-to-use photographs would be epic.

I was thinking that way before steem price leaped to $8. Then, I realized that the money is in providing value with technology and content and not nickel and diming for services like some other crypto's do.

@leap8: I like the idea! I was also thinking about a platform with every kind of media content like Story-/Video-/Audioblocks - as I'm pretty much doing everything within that range and would like to see more people out there who share their ideas & works. I wouldn't be so strict in regards of the user rights. On the longer run I'd like to see that there are different licencing models :)
(and yes, why not one where you directly pay amount X in STEEM/SBD for the full right usage?! Just fair for professional work)
But whatever, let's stick to the idea first - which for sure is great! Do you have some contacts in this regards?!? I'm still new to Steemit & don't know many people up here, but for sure I'm an enabler.. and I know when something is worth following upon.. 8)

#followed, #upvoted & #resteemed for max. visibility

I don't have direct contacts that can help make this happen but this community is great and they pay attention to good ideas here. I'm going keep pushing and steemin until it gets somewhere :-)

up up.. to the MOON! 🚀👍
Right now I can't help in regards of SP, but as you said "this community is great and they pay attention to good ideas here". - that was also my impression & 1st experience here.
So your idea will find its way for sure 😊 I actually have no clue how or why I found your article - but heey, that's just another cool thing on #Steemit 😎

"I actually have no clue how or why I found your article" -
great ideas attract great people ;-)

I stumbled on your post after joining Steemit and I’m excited by your enthusiasm about free stock photos. I’m planning to realease a ton of photos through my Steemit blog. Check out my #inroduceyourself post to read more about my back story. I see the potential too and would love to be part of creating this public domain, cc0, free stock photo resource!! Looking forward to connecting. -Matt

Hi Matt,
It's great to find like-minded people here. Your photo collection will definitely be a great resource to add to the site. I will keep updating on the progress of the site. I invite you to join my discord server at https://discord.gg/fNxZ237

You may also want to take a look at the @creative-commons account on steemit. They have a similar vision about sharing under creative commons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86