You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Use My Real Face On Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Wow. Good for you. That's admirable. People will sometimes search my name when they want to find sermons to watch online. And I suppose I don't want to confuse people if they're searching around and then see all this other Steemit stuff. But, you're right, I love the idea that it keeps you honest and helps you sleep well at night :)

I'm fascinating by what you said, that it "only offers the illusion of anonymity." I'm still new to this blockchain stuff. I guess there's ways to still find people out, you're saying, if someone is motivated?

Sort:  

There aren't currently ways for people to tie your identities together; but there may be tools available down the track, and 3 seconds after you post, it's on the steem blockchain for generations.
I'd hate to be a dropkick on here for a decade, then watch as somebody posts the real identities of the top 100 dropkicks onto the blockchain.
Best to avoid the whole thing and be me from the outset :)

I had to look up what dropkick meant ;)

I agree with you. I'm basically just going to treat this as if it was completely public as if I was using my real name. I won't share anything I wouldn't mind becoming public. It's sort of a general principal I always try to abide by with social media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46