You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laughing At The Zuckerberg Empire: Some Interesting Things To Ponder

in #steemit8 years ago

When I got on Facebook, I was immediately aware that the ONLY thing I wanted it for was NOT what it was designed for. It seems it was made as a platform for personal yammering and connecting. I wanted to--and did--use it to spread the ideas of self-ownership, non-aggression, and a stateless society. And I found it rather useful for that... even if I made nothing from it, and even if various fascist/censorship/stupidity aspects of Facebook sometimes got in the way. Anyway, it's nice to see a platform (Steemit) made for what I actually WANT to use it for.

Sort:  

It is exactly what is designed for... the question is what it has become.
A VERY nasty place. You might want to read my article on it as well.
https://steemit.com/activism/@johnster/sue-facebook-why-i-have-a-strong-aversion-against-facebook-turn-them-in-and-or-see-them-in-court

Agreed. And I think that Facebook does serve a purpose as far as networking goes and simple communication between friends, which this platform doesn't really have - or doesn't make as readily available. And you can definitely reach more people on Facebook (for now), but now you don't have to worry about content being removed or accounts being shut down because someone's feelings were hurt.

In other words - you can skip the BS and just create rich, quality content. Then you can use those suckers at Facebook to spread the message further and draw more people away from the platform, if they're looking to leave it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45