The number one guaranteed way to make money on Steem

in #steemit8 years ago

I am going to make this brief, because there is really not much to say. The number one way to make money on Steemit, is to do something, and post information about it and directing people to resources, for making improvements to the Steemosphere.

Mainly it is about making applications that interact with the Steem blockchain. Whether it is a webpage, an interface library for some given programming platform, analytical code that reveals more information, or whatever. Even just to help out with debugging the web interface can earn a dollar or two. I recently contributed a bug report that resulted in a bug fix that makes the MUTE button work. I haven't seen the bogus greyed out posts since the server went read-only for a few hours yesterday. I am immensely pleased, because I think that this bug was a serious issue holding back adoption.

Out of all the things I see, apart from the feel-good image slathered articles about self-help and interesting life stories, this is the one thing that absolutely works. It's obviously not for everyone, since not everyone has the skills, talents and knowledge required to do it. But there is a very solid reason why this formula works:

The more people can do with Steem, the more people want to do something with Steem.

It's really not rocket science. If you want to make Steem better, and you actually get in and do something, Steem will reward you.

Now that the Steem price has dipped under dollar parity, we also have the likely new scenario where investors are seeing an undervalued asset. So it's not all bad when your rewards seem to be shrinking before you get to payout time. If Steem fell to 50 US cents, that doubles how much Steem people can get for their money. This will naturally trigger a recovery. Maybe it eats into our post rewards, but I don't know about you, if I can eat, wash, and pay for my rent and internet, I can program and make Steem better. This is a feedback loop built into the system and in human psychology.

Sort:  

I could'nt agree with you more. It's what we give for the better, that is most appreciated. Thanks.

I am old, well not real old; but i am on the Dark Side of 50 . . .

Over the decades I have been on hundreds of websites and definitely surfed thousands and thousands more. Remember the internet is only around 20 or 25 years old; but dedicated procrastinators like myself have literally spent Real Life YEARS dedicated to keyboarding and mousing.

In fact i am amazed i do not have RSI Carpal Tunnel wrist forearm damage from typing, anyway I am sure you get my opinion; that I have served a long serious apprenticeship about being online. In fact i virtually live in Cyberspace ! ! ! since i travel between locations so much much of my life and interactions happen over a computer monitor...

Given all that what is different about steemit, in steemland some stranger pays to hear my opinion, this is very different to my Real Life where my family and friends usually say "is this going to be a long story?" when i catch their eye and draw breathe.

I like people and like helping people and in the steemuniverse I can help make posts better for all concerned, steem benefits by working together since as we promote steemit all our shareholding go up, thus while i Real Life or sleep some other little steemian out there is working to improve the market price for all steemians : )

See You on the BlockChain . . .

/ hugz ; )

Nice! Don't have any programming skills any more, but I should probably look into breaking steem & submitting bugreps once I am back in civilization.
Still, I am making some money proofreading/translating posts, but so far I am accepting them as SP. as you said, right now it is a good investment.

Old skills just need refreshing. I first started and got a little bit of a chance to learn how to code in C, m68k assembler, and a simple imperative language called Amiga E when I was a teenager. Some of these things never go away. Programming skills are built partly upon logic and partly upon mathematics. If you are the type who dipped your toes into it when you were young, likely you have partly kept this knowledge fresh in idle thoughts and amusements, in games, and so on. Games in particular are highly disparaged as time-wasters, but it is not many games that don't reinforce some kind of thinking skill or other. Sudoku helps you keep your arithmetic sharp, and a little boost to logic. Crosswords help you retain linguistic skills. Strategy games help you stay sharp with thinking about causal sequences. Adventure games and puzzlers keep you thinking about goal-driven activity. First person shooters sharpen your ability to observe the world around you and manage your limited resources when in the midst of hectic activity. No game doesn't improve or at least maintain some skill.

So, likely, you have still been keeping essential skills. If you have dreams of helping change the world by using your brain, you probably already have kept most of those skills alive enough that a little determined, dedicated effort will bring them back to the level you got to in the past, and let you start moving forward.

That is true, but quite a lot of word changing can be done without any interaction with computers on the low level. I actually quite like scripting languages and SQL stuff. But I mostly like to automate the system and just let it do its own thing. Set it up, see that everything works okay, and just watch the logs for unusual things.
I remember being the first person to isolate some weird rootkit bot net. Been number 1 google result for it for a year and a half or so. :-D People renting a room at our space had it on their computer, ans I noticed that the log file to count their traffic was unusually large. Some tinkering later I've found a lot of relevant stuff it did, and sent the files isolated to some people with more tech savvy. And the blog entry about this whole thing has been on goolge for a long time, with quite a few people comming into comments asking about what to do with their infection. :-D

I don't have much technical skills. So for me to make money on steemit it has to writing good original articles on non-technical matters and from posting comments and upvoting. So for those who are not technically inclined, you can still make money on steemit

This is definitely true, but ultimately it does not have nearly as much impact on the potential for investment and userbase expansion. I think also that curation rewards have turned out to be mostly a pile of smelly smelliness. Well, on the bright side, the curators don't take such a big chunk out that their promotional work isn't worth the cost.

It is slowly dawning on the Steemosphere , that it's not about a narrow view of the compelling content. That is actually part of the ability of the platform to retain holders, who will, at least some of them, vest their money into steem power, in the hope of being able to have an impact on the curation system and improve it.

I don't mean to put a downer on the quality content contributors, because for sure it's part of the recipe for the success of the platform. More users and in general more people looking at the blogroll here, is a good thing, because at least some are going to inject funds into the steemeconomy.

From an economic analysis, the issue is that while you may make money putting high value content that wins curator and reader votes, you are probably going to turn around, as I necessarily have to, and convert to BTC and use that to fund your ability to continue producing good content, instead of working at your regular job, which destroys your ability to participate.

So internal content production is not a net gain for the ecosystem, to the contrary, unless your local grocery store and landlord and utility companies start accepting steem, it is a net cash-out on the steem pool, a drop in market cap, and a slow road towards ruination for the entire community.

If what you are contributing isn't bringing in investors, the pool of rewards naturally must shrink. You can't really do much directly about plugging up that leak problem, but you can do something, if it is making you enough money, to promote Steem outside the ecosystem, for its benefits as a blogging and discussion platform. More people = more potential investments.

By necessity I will have to cash out part of what I get in rewards, but I am going to just leave alone my vested Steem Power, because it lets me have more influence over the internal parts of the Steemosphere. I think that I have a clear concept of how this all works and the economics at play, and therefore, I think that I know what will ultimately lead to bigger market cap, a higher Steem exchange rate, and a resultant benefit for all others who also are vesting and not cashing out.

It's not much different to any other crypto, in its mechanics, but where it differs is crucial. It has its own internal reward system to ultimately aim towards rewarding those who do the most to bring in more money, and those who do it will naturally rise to the top over time because their opinions, when followed, yield results that everyone can see are working for everyone. Secondly it has an internal discussion system that, while it is as yet primitive, will help people stay within the system to organise to promote the system.

If you have SP, you are a shareholder. If you are writing articles, you have some stake in the long term good image of the platform, so that it gains and retains new users, amongst which will be those who will also vest their resources.

The genius of it is those who love Steem the most, are writing their posts, taking their rewards, but leaving their SP in. So eventually all the SP will move to those with the most loyalty to the system, because they don't power down. This will change the focus of the group as a whole, and this focus will be noticed by the rest of the world because it creates a productive, supportive and growing userbase of well-mannered users and avid promoters of the platform.

I can go on and on forever about the ways in which Steem wins, but let's just say that I am a staunch, and stoic supporter, after 2 weeks on here, I am convinced that this is a model that will be emulated, and that will eventually see us move up and pip out probably everyone except BTC, ETH and RPL in the ladder. Those three have so much invested in them in peripheral, cooperating systems. Steem has the ability to accrue these partnerships much faster than any of these platforms, because it is also a way for people to discuss this.

Looks like I need to pick up some technical skills

It's worth doing, if you want to build applications. I can certainly recommend python as a good language to learn to start with, it's very easy to learn, and has a vast array of libraries you can easily install and interface with all kinds of things, and indeed, apps like bitmessage, the bitcoin-qt wallet, electrum, and probably several other apps in the blockchain area, are written in python, and it is relatively easy to port them to both Windows and MacOS, and I believe that by now, python-kivy probably lets you target iOS and Android as well, if you write code that separates core functions from interface. Something that I am now going to focus on, so that I can have a single application that other developers with skills with other interfaces can work on their specialty interface library, as well as share the load with working on the core.

Thanks for the advice. It's something I will consider. Better than catching pokemon

You hit the nail on the head when you said, "The more people can do with steem, the more people want to do something with steem." I dont totally undetstand it yet, as others have said, but from what I've seen and do understand, it has lots of potential! I'm excited to see where it goes!

steemosphere, I like it; I myself coined the terms steemland and steemuniverse : )

/ hugz ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58