You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Shakeout of Creators in Steem's Early Phase of Evolution

in #steemit8 years ago

Thankyou for that. Yes, and the new changes in the recent update to the steemit.com website are even going further in this direction, actually, when I got up and spotted new buttons, at first I was a little shocked, and my first thought was, "Oh, now I have to rethink my strategy again!"

But after some consideration, I think it is going to be really good. The ReSteem button (the name it will have in the next update round) gives an opportunity for a new job, one that I have always appreciated other people doing, I remember in particular the admin of an IRC server I used to be a permanent fixture on, was an avid Newshound. It's something in between curator and creator. It will also lead to casual users attempting to spam with it, but their results within a week or two will be curators cut them off their followed list.

Indeed, your post itself, and this category, is in this exact area, just off to the side, so to speak. Compilation posts are a clear way for curators to actually produce original content, but I guess now you have two promotion avenues - you can still make these compilations, but also ReSteem the posts as well.

Having been here for only 6 weeks, I think also we may start to see soon, thanks to the ReSteeming of somewhat older content, an increase of second round rewards, 4 weeks after posts are up.

Lots of great new changes, and again, thanks for your promotion of my post :)

Sort:  

it is going to be interesting to see how this shakes out. I saw someone suggest in chat that the sort of curating I do will lose value. At first blush, I disagree. I think there will always be a spot for curation that gives the reader a chance at knowing what they are about to look at without telling all. The resteeming will just add headlines to busy feeds. I think it has it's value, just doesn't get rid of another value.

I agree. More options is always better, and as userbase grows, the best ways to use it will be discovered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53