You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bumps in the road. What to do when you have to divert your path.

in #steemit8 years ago

It was the easiest one to get at, that was already on the host's PHP installations, openssl. The purpose of them is generating nonces using a hash function on, probably, a time string, or so, which would ensure that there was no duplicates in thousands of iterations, but nothing specifically identifying. I used the ripemd160 hash because I know it's pretty resistant to collisions. I mean, I could implement the necessary function with a simple increment but it's more code, basically.

The algorithm just automatically generates a string, one for 'user' and another for individual items for each user, so they can bookmark the link with the query string containing the 'user' code, and from that there is a database with user code (or nothing), item code, and a datestamp.

I did it this way because I figured it was the shortest, quickest way to generate unique IDs for each user. Something like a weaker version of the elliptic curve that is used for Steem. With steem, the username is not actually important, in fact I don't know where it actually appears, I am thinking probably in the initial.

But it doesn't matter so much, so long as there is no duplicates, and I know of no better way to ensure this within what will probably be at most maybe 20,000 'users' and amongst their items, the combination should yield a unique key for each entry.

It is just, really, a quick and dirty database application purpose, I will reveal exactly what it is for once it is up and running. I have got the answer to the question about the server configuration that I need, and the capabilities for the application, so I am just waiting on my 'boss' to make the subscription, and move the domain over to the new host that allows what I require.

Once it's complete and I've polished it with some nice CSS, next I will look into how to build a google chrome extension that integrates with it. Then the user can just set their UUID with it, and hopefully, I can then get it to automatically populate a form item that will mean they can use this with all of their posts automatically.

I imagine that if you are a clever person you probably have some idea what the purpose is, but I think I will get the jump on this and have something people can start using right away with little inconvenience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59