Problems & Fixes Not Personalities

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Stuperstars Today, Irrelevant Tomorrow .. Hopefully!

Let's Be Real

I wrote a relatively long post about recent controversies, which most of us are sick of talking or thinking about, and another comment expressing some bullshit praise for whatever aspect of the latest @steemitblog .. so I am happy that these disingenuous posts, which were entirely without value, seemed to simply disappear earlier today (there were technical problems with the site). It seems people were very eager to comment on the update .. as if it were being recorded for posterity .. no no no, save your comments for implementation and results, for it is only then we can be confident there will be anyone in the future to care.

Which brings me to this ..

The post I made was pointing out that people should comment on the actions of other users, and discuss stated reasons if any, if there seems to be some agreement that what the user has done, or is doing, is a problem. I pointed out that the individual user names that keep coming up in such discussions (character assassinations), on steemit, on steemit.chat and on discord, are absolutely irrelevant, because .. hopefully, we will soon have millions of users ... amazing talents, awesome contributors, on a level we have not yet seen .. and we will also have trouble-makers, trolls, organized thieves and highly-destructive down-voters .. and many of these will have substantial power .. they may even be agents of competitors sent here, with significant backing, to purposefully disrupt and destroy ... only if the system allows for such things of course.


Angel Of Death-Soldier Of Fortune via redbubble

One username keeps being mentioned, but I am here to tell you that he is not the angel of death that many wish to make him out to be, but rather should be seen as an angel sent to demonstrate what needs to be fixed on this platform, if we are to have a future - people should not respond with nonsensical personal attacks, and insane threats, and not just because the individual is an early adopter and holds a substantial stake in the platform, which should be respected, but because .. all that has occurred to date, all the drama, will .. if we are lucky .. be washed entirely away in the upcoming flood of new user contributions. But this will not be the case unless we change the system, so one substantial stakeholder can not use their power to obliterate the reputation and visibility of another substantial stake-holder's entire body of work. (referring to: bernie vs htooms).

Respect Where it is Due

If someone does something that is alarming to a substantial portion of users, then explanation should also be provided, and if the person performing said action holds significant stake, they should be responded to with some respect, otherwise you will only encourage behavior that will not or can not be explained. But mostly, the action itself, if deemed harmful, should be examined closely .. not at all taking into account the specific actor, because there will be many many more, doing whatever the system will allow, and in as extreme a manner as they possibly can.

This goes beyond "flagging" and the shit-fit-festivals that has creates, but also, and in my view much more importantly, to organized gaming of the system designed to siphon off unwarranted rewards.

Beware of Losers!

Just a brief public service announcement ..

If you have your time occupied by losers, you are a loser yourself. The same names keep coming up in steemit related chat channels (no need to name names, you know who they are) .. they keep calling good people out, forcing them to respond to the tirades of these malignant narcissists ... these are people who have invested nothing in the platform, but ohhhh my god, they have a lot to say about others .. wagging their fingers, insults that would make mothers cry .. even threats which border on criminality .. and all done by people who can barely keep their own heads above water.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm no stranger to the kinds of incidences you mention above, hell, I could troll like the best of them sometimes, but I've been looking for more positive stuff recently. Initially I didn't like the fact that you couldn't follow topics, but rather people here, but now I kinda like it... means I'm insulated from the people I used to be to a certain extent. I like what you said "If you have your time occupied by losers, you are a loser yourself". Exactly. If you focus on the change you want to see rather than the neg head shit "they" want you to, it is truly life transforming (and that isn't an overstatement). Like any social parasite, ignore them and they will eventually need to emulate you in a sincere way or alternatively fuck off to wherever it is losers find comfort in their own loserdome... bless 'em.

Thanks for the response! I really need to avoid them, because I am so easily dragged into combat, hotheaded as I am .. so the best way to conserve positive energy and time, is to totally avoid them once identified. :) We can hope that they grow and change .. and we can help, if there seems something to salvage.

Bless'em yes, and bless you.. cheers!

I think you're right. I fell back into old habits yesterday... I want to make my activities different with steemit so... gotta stay vigilant and utilise the mute button.

Well spoken. This writing has to be resteemed! We all should think about. It is relevant and the problems have never been handled from this side of view before.

They are understandable but also entirely futile .. I hate seeing you take such damage @seablue, I don't believe bernie is taking any pleasure in it either, he's making a point .. which I am guessing is .. "stop wasting your time!". I would uncouple the individual from what is occurring, and target your message to STEEMIT Inc. to ask them to continue to consider changes/fixes .. this system is far from perfect, and that is a message I believe bernie is also sending.

Once "disagreement" reaches this level, everyone loses. If I do not like something that someone posts, I should have a means by which to voice this displeasure, without going for the throat. :) There are posters who I have vehemently disagreed with and who I have muted (I try to avoid insulting them), but later I have found that they sometimes post things that I very much do agree with, and enjoy reading.

We need civility 'and' be able to throw shit at eachother, simultaneously, without creating long-lasting animosities .. design changes are required.

My belief is that Steemit won't acknowledge the problem unless we make it problem.

In that sense, bernie and I are working together. I'm making it visible on a daily basis that there is an issue that needs to be addressed.

I'm going to go about doing what I do. Bernie can do what he does. Then we can see what effect that has on the platform.

When I write 'Welcome to Steemit' on a new post, and it gets flagged. People are going to wonder why. That is a question they should be asking, because there are issues they need to know about early before they invest too much time, effort and money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59