You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Passwords are a Problem!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It's an absolute drag. It means if my computer gets stolen, they have my passwords and I do not! If I make retrievable copies eg email them to myself or put them on dropbox etc then I have to hide them behind a really insecure password in order to know I can get them back. Which means back to square one. And as for logging on with my mobile phone so I can use Steemit on the move - forget it. Do I seriously have to type that in on a little touchscreen? And then heaven knows what a strategic mistake it is for the company to generate the password for you. There is a big fat trust issue right there, and if somehow my security got cracked, how could I trust that it wasn't Steemit itself who failed? It is my responsibility and my risk so it has to be my choice. I thought this was a minor thing, but frankly it is becoming a deterrent, especially when there is a lot of choice out there. I have no idea what buying a key means in this instance. Sounds like just another drag. Password managers etc, all very well, but I always avoided using them so far why do I want one now? Just another thing to get my head around, another barrier to use, and yes, another drag. I'm off to minds

Sort:  

Passwords in a file mean you also backup your passwords when you back up the file. You keep them on a flash drive and then maybe they steal your flash drive. Log into condenser.steem.vc with testuser with the password barman and try to change the master password. I created a system where you can have another password and only the active, posting and memo keys work. The owner key doesn't. You won't be able to change the master password.

Thanks, but why bother? I don't need to fill my head with this crap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57730.16
ETH 2445.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34