Shepard Fairey Commemorates Independance Day with a Masterpiece of ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

How did Shepard Fairey commemorate  Independence Day Of 2017? Well simply take a close look at the masterpiece by the Obey Giant founder

JULY 04, 2017

INDEPENDENCE DAY!

Independence Day is an opportunity to reflect. I think the founders of our nation had some solid, sometimes even lofty, principles and wanted to break away from tyranny and corruption. Today we are faced with aspects of tyranny and corruption within our own system. I view patriotism as a willingness to shape the nation in the most positive ways possible and to dissent from policies and systems that don’t align with one’s ethical principles. I consider automatically falling in line with the nation’s policies out of blind obedience to be nationalism, not patriotism. Let’s all be patriots who hold ourselves and our nation to the highest standards of justice and morality. We need to speak out when the nation falls short of our standards of justice and morality. Sometimes dissent is patriotic! – Shepard

My thoughts

I hope you all took time to digress, ponder,  really appreciate what independence means to us all.. God Bless.  Re-Steem  and Upvote,  and I'll write weekly Shepard Fairey updates on weekly release for all of you die hard obey fans like me!

Think about the amount of effort this great artist used to be a voice for America and crea a piece of art with principles of Indepence.  Shepard Fairey had given one very veru special self-less act of kindness to me - a few years ago - and he had never even met me. 

He gave me a Holiday Screen Print valued at over $750.  All because I simply took the time to give him some steem, a few Upvotes when the votes were down and and convinced him to never ever POWER DOWN.  


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44