You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commenting VS. Creating Content (For Minnows - Is this the Question or Answer?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Thanks so much for commenting @sponge-bob and reaffirming that excerpt from my post - I hope anyone who has felt frustrated with STEEMIT at one point or another can take something away from the value of building sincere connections with people with no hidden agenda and no hopes for a handout - when you have no hopes your truest words and sincerity seem to just flow out naturally while interacting with users in posts or in chats.

And when people do have hidden agenda - I think most users can see thru the comments - and I'm not speaking of the 'nice post - upvote me' comments... I'm speaking of the few line comments that really are blah blah blah repetition or brown-nosing comments..

STEEMIT certainly is what you put into it..

@sponge-bob - Do you have any advice in terms of the newer users in terms of actually investing fiat into STEEM and SP or just grinding it out and being patient until we 'make it'

I'm almost 40 and patient to retire but retiring younger does sound quite nice!! :)

Sort:  

I invested when there was blood in the streets - Steem was at .000432 in bitcoin. Something like $0.04 cents each. Months and months later, I made all my investment back and took OUT double what I had invested. I was pulling money out when steem was at $2.30+ but when it dropped to $2, I stopped pulling it out. I still have about 2 houses worth of Steem invested.

Having a large balance will get you some eyeballs every time you post. Wallet checkers like to vote on large wallets and comment in hopes of getting that big upvote in return.

Yes, you will gain more votes and followers just from having an SP balance.

But there is money in it too! I had to take a couple months off to move, as you will see in my posts. I went from a shack to a high-rise and took two months to do it. No Steemit posts.
I still made $2000 per month allowing my bots to vote on my friends. (I usually make $6000 with votes and moderate posting).

My advice. Invest if you can. There is money in voting via bot or manually. Keep putting out content that is original. And make it spectacular - try to be the life of the party or get a conversation started.

Every one of my posts takes a couple hours (min) to create. Then 12 to 15 hours of chatting in the comments section - plus returning upvotes for those who vote big on me. It's a full time job. You have to babysit your post all week. Watch for those replies.

Those that won't have a return are those who fail to proof read, hit the post button, then sit there doing nothing and seeing if they get a vote. Or worse, they hit post and go out for dinner and a movie.

Comments and responses is what will get you into the trending page (where more eyeballs go to find the cool stuff).

That's all I can think of for now. I am trying to get you trending - doing my part :)

Hey @sponge-bob, I work hard. Give me a hundred bucks;)

With the bot thing, a lot of people wouldn't bat an eye on pledging $10 - $30 a month to an artist/writer/friend that they like on Patreon, but here, where you can pledge your stake, suddenly it becomes an issue.

I don't get it. That's what is great about this system, you're actually incentivized to support people.

@sponge-bob

While you are at it I'll take a hundo as well - just kidding

To be completely serious with you - that last comment was probably one of the best stories of success and pieces of advice. I am going to give some serious thought and make serious adjustments to the way I STEEM after reading that - motivation from people like you and @boxcarblue really really just make the mild frustrations of STEEMIT - become... not a frustration at all - just a roadblock in need of an already existing detour - Thanks again so much for adding so much great info and sharing a bit of your personal STEEMIT story - I will certainly go back and read your older posts - And thank you for helping to get this post into the trending section - I'm not sure who to thank for the huge upvote but this morning this post was hovering around $1.60 and then I ran a few errands and you and boxcarblue joined the convos and it somehow jumped to $15!!

I suppose knowing who to thank is not the problem - the solution simply was a random act of kindness - that I assure whoever is gratefully appreciated!!

Much love!

It costs me nothing to upvote a person who is getting it right, making new discoveries and setting others on the right track. A nice kick for a job well done.

Aha.... You definitely were the prime suspect ;)

And I literally just noticed the "Art of Artists Creating" post - pop as well - I truly appreciate your support/upvotes and even more so hearing from you that I'm getting it right, new discoveries and setting others on the right track... That means more than words can express to me!!

Thank You again for your time and generosity - I will certainly pay it forward to others as I continue to learn, have the means to compensate others when deserved, and always will promote keeping the positivity on STEEMIT and getting users to find that detour if it isn't obvious.. Good Karma certainly coming your way from some random entity at a random point in time when you least expect it - what's better than that!! :)

This is all so inspiring. Thanks so much for welcoming me and linking me to this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44