You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commenting VS. Creating Content (For Minnows - Is this the Question or Answer?

in #steemit7 years ago

To be completely honest with you - from my own experiences creating content - unless it is about a "breaking story" - usually about a crypto currency or crypto news releases it has seemed that there has been no response or reason on the amount of upvotes.. last week I posted two very short posts - less than a paragraph - one was about myself starting a new job which grabbed a few upvotes instantly and then a whale vote towards the end of the 7 days. The other was about a female graffiti artist - mostly a picture with only literally 2 sentences. It also grabbed some upvotes at first and continued during the week.

About 3 weeks ago I wrote a very long post about my life and life in general, well thought out and loaded with great pictures, etc - it gained 1 upvote - which was from myself..

No rhyme or reason that I have seen with trying many different topics - and I still get more upvotes on many comments on others posts than my own.. Hope that answers your questions and keep at it brother - I believe the system will be

Sort:  

Thanks for your honest response. I will keep moving forward and see how things go.

@josephsavage - Anytime my friend!!

Not to confuse things or you any further...( I myself am baffled at the moment... )

Currently at 15 hours since posting this it has earned $1.61 with 45 up votes, 35 comments, and 1 re-steem by @boxcarblue

And.... And... the reply comments Ive posted on here in response to other users statements, questions, and 2 cents have earned me $.94

So If I were to backtrack at this moment to your original question I might suggest to try to try and find a topic which will generate up votes, but more importantly creative some real commenting and engagement.. I think in 4 months this post here has created to the most amount of comments and certainly the largest size comments as well with people speaking passionately on their views... And that truly is what STEEMIT was intended for I think.. Not to post, comment, and reply - But to have a Post that creates an integration of all types of users, in a sort of open forum discussion it that makes sense..

DISCLAIMER: Just my amateur opinion

Lastly - In retrospect again - Which sometimes I seem to forget about - commenting using the esteem app or on a desktop computer really does change the amount of up votes!! using the eSteem App has automatic up votes that are given to some comments by its developers.. Not quite sure of the rhyme or reason on which comments but if you look at the users up-voting my comments in this post there is certain repetition... I guess its an incentive to use the app even tho I don't think they make any monetary gain by users using it..

I just got the same alert from the esteem app 6 times in a row. It really very desperately wanted me to know you replied and get me to respond through the app.

Which is funny, because tapping those alerts opens the app, but it fails to open the content or post that triggered the alert. I am often left to wonder why and where I was mentioned and to use other online tools to find it.

Also with respect to monetary gain... They do get a tiny portion of the value received by posts and comments from the app.

Edit to add proof of eSteem profiting from app:

Was this your first comment to this post using eSteem? certainly the most rewarding... LOL maybe there is an algorithm built in if you use the word "esteem" in the comment it bumps it further lol

That was indeed my first response using the eSteem app. I wanted to test your theory as well as have it generate the beneficiary tag so I could capture it from steemd.

New mantra: if it's worth replying, it's worth replying through eSteem?

I wonder if there is some limit to upvote frequency. It seems ripe for abuse otherwise.

Edit: It looks like there is a frequency limit, as the post before was upvoted and this one was not... unless they're just late? time will tell

New Mantra - Theory Proven - I live the way you worded it also - and yes I do believe sometimes the esteem votes come a few hours after posting time - probably let's their accts recharge closer towards the 100% end of the spectrum -

Using the esteem app for commenting surely is worth it - same applies to posting - however harder to post on a phone - you can always write a post and save it to post once on esteem..

Us minnows gotta figure any and all ways to help us climb the ranks and help the newest users see some reward.. a day 1 user getting .25 a comment isn't too shabby - ROCK ON ESTEEM !!

VERY VERY INTERESTING - The plot thickens LOL - I had updated the post and included the users that had Re-Steemed the Post in a Thank You edit - maybe that was part of the trigger.. Odd that you got the same alert 6 times in a row..

And I get that makes sense why the debs auto-upvote some comments when using the eSteem app - they are benefitting themselves.. I am totally cool with that - not only for the rewards that I receive by using it but also to help compensate them for creating the app.. I'll have to try a little trial of only using the app for a week straight and then only using a desktop/laptop for a week and seeing the differences in rewards... Thanks for sharing that info with the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51