You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commenting VS. Creating Content (For Minnows - Is this the Question or Answer?

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks so much for your input @boxcarblue !! You are certainly one of the authors on here that blogs a lot and also makes it a point to engage and become interactive with other users and I admire that!!

As for @vaerospace - I can't quite read the tone used either...

And by myself saying that I think the voting system is flawed... I suppose I don't have all of the information and or insight to correctly make that statement... I suppose what I was alluding to was the fact that when new users visit the Steemit Homepage for the first time ever - What do they initially read?

Something to the tune of "Money Talks. The first ever social media platform that pays you to blog, comment, etc..." something along those lines - I know its not verbatim... But the way that the main page is designed with color and type is to allure users to set up an account with the hopes of earning decent money... It always shows a feed of posts earning $175-$250 - So the average person probably thinks - WOW people are earning $200 a post.. If I start today in a month I can probably earn $10-25 a post!! Who knows what people think when they first enter the world of STEEMIT - I do know that knowing it is a legitimate site that pays out rewards in fiat if the user decides to cash out it a big draw point to sign up because who on earth wouldn't like a part time job that they can clock into whenever they want to for 5 mins or 5 hours and earn...

Sort:  

That is true. People's initial imaginings don't always correspond to the reality here, and the "Big Boys", so to speak do seem to have a club, but if a person can find a way that works for him/her, and there different ways, he/she can do all right.

The one magnificent post approach is probably the surest path to disappointment. Like you said, commenting can be a way in. Posting good, original pictures everyday works for some people. Reaching out to authors you really connect with in a genuine way can be helpful. Organizing contests or participating in chats is a good way to meet people and get started too.

For me, I dabbled with a few ideas, but found that writing about Japan seemed to be of the most interest to people, so I've focused on that. I think people need to approach Steemit like it's their own personal business. They need to evaluate the time that they have, the way their product (content) is doing, and make goals so that they can tweak their product and have something to work towards.

Either way, even for small rewards, it can be a lot of work, just not work in the day-job sense of the word. It's hard to say what the "Big Boys" are really doing with their time, but I think many of them are busy working hard on crypto projects and doing things for Steem. I don't know for sure, though, and I understand the feeling that they are "cheating" the system.

Anyway, this has been a fun little interaction. Thanks!

Well Said again and thank you so much for sharing your insights and for resteeming the posts so it reached a wider crowd - I am very glad you engaged a lot with your thoughts because of all users interacting in thus post I believe you had the highest rep, prob most time spent on STEEMIT, and have seen a lot more than most of us!? THANKS AGAIN SO MUCH ( I really like the post niche idea also) as you have done posting about Japan than most of us!? THANKS AGAIN SO MUCH ( I really like the post niche idea also) as you have done posting about Japan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50