Why I've Stopped Swimming/Voting With The Whales (Rant)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Before you think that I don't vote because I'm jealous because I didn't get a whale's vote, it's not. And I have two reasons why I don't vote with the whales.

Reason #1 -

The main reason I don't vote alongside whales is because, there's no value to me voting with them! For example, if I vote on a post with $5000, and there's a whale in there, I'm not going to get anything! This is because their powers outclasses mine, the only way for we to get some kind of curation reward is to have enough power that I can still nab a .001%, and that's only providing me .001 STEEM POWER. To me, that's is considerably low, I mean, how long is it going to take for me to get 1 Power just from voting alongside the whales. I see two possible solutions to this. One way is to vote with minnows, but then, that's a problem. We minnows don't hold a lot of power, and so, the post isn't going to be rewarded with a lot of money. The other solution is to vote with the dolphins. This solution isn't so half-bad, I may or may not have a share of this post's reward, however, this is where other minnows, dolphins, and possibly a whale jumps in, and is ruins the percentage!

This is one such example if I voted with the whales :

Let's do the math. Assuming this post receives $4000, 25% goes to the curators correct? So, 25% of $4000 = $1000. Great so $1000 * 33.566% = $335.66 is for the first guy. And the second guy receives $107.55. Great for them right? What about a minnow (like me). $1000 * 0.000% = $0. Essentially, because I do not have enough power, I am getting $0, I'm fortunate enough to get a 0.001 curation reward if my percentage of the share is 0.000%.

Seriously?! How many of these do I need to get 1 Power?

Reason #2 -

I'm losing my voting power! Your voting power affects how much you will give to that post. As of right now, my vote gives 2 cents, whereas the majority of other minnows give nothing. Anyways, off topic, the higher your voting power, the more it affects the post, and if I vote with a lot of whales, I'm practically wasting my power for nothing! (Though, I'm pretty sure the majority of you don't care) #Don'tWastePower

That's why I've stopped voting with the whales. Remember to only vote on the posts that interest you! -Krystox

Sort:  

@berniesanders is all over this one. I agree that curation is difficult with whales, but I understand that I really don't add value to curation. My value is going to be in comments and my own posts. I'm happy for others when they get a vote from a whale or dolphin, but I vote what I think is the best content and right now as a minnow don't even worry about curation rewards. That really for the big fish and the few times I get upvoted in comments that make money.

Yeah, I know a few people that just make their money off commenting. And as a fellow minnow, I definitely agree with you.

At least for right now. I can make a post like this https://steemit.com/steemit/@bendjmiller222/how-my-best-friend-saved-me-from-suicide and that I spent hours editing and putting together, but for time's sake a good heartfelt comment is worth just as much in 5 minutes. There is just simply to much content drowning out great posts and not enough time to find them all

Well, voting with whales do not really matters. Your vote is just a sign that you liked the post. There should be some place for appreciation, and you have 48 to 50 votes facility at 100% voting power. Meaning, you can make your own posts and vote yourself which is not really a good option. Voting to others and appreciation to them is a good option. You give some, you get some. :)

Just sharing my point of view. And I am agree with your stance. We should vote what we like.

Its SteemPower, not steem dollars. Just thought to correct you.

Oh, yeah, sorry about that. This was just something that I needed to get off my head today.

Totally agree and it's even worse even if you do start off the voting they still nab the curation reward even if they vote hours later. That's not how it's supposed to work but it does.

Yeah, that's what I don't like about the system. Hopefully, they can fix this sooner or later.

It's a system that benefits the people that would be changing the system.

And this happened already with this thread. Few minutes after me a couple of bigger votes and my reward went to %0.000. It's bad when you have to route against people getting money in hopes you can build up some steem power.

Thanks, appreciate all these different perspectives on steemit strategy. I just vote for what I like to see more of and watch with interest how it affects my rewards, if at all!

Yep! Totally agreeing with you, just vote on what interests you.

I don't vote because i want curation rewards... I vote because i like a post and i want to tell the author that i support him. Also he may notice my vote and take a look at my posts and may up vote some of my posts too.

Secondly, if you want to be noticed by whales you are going to need a lot of votes and support from day to day users. I'm not sure how the whale interface looks but i'm sure they have a lot of filters to see only the most interesting posts to give their up vote.

Voting is not useless, commenting is not useless neither. You shouldn't be thinking about curation rewards at all.

Everyone upvote
My motto is
Follow you is to follow me 🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀
Upvote away

right now for me, finding posts that interest me is the hard part. steemit's trending front page is pretty bad. the overwhelming majority of posts don't interest me. maybe i'm spoiled by reddit and in time steemit will get better.

Hopefully it does. Have you tried searching on the 'tags' section though?

yes. i now use the tags section more than the front page. it helps a little.

I agree, and have started doing the same thing. Funny, my vote is worth about 2 cents also, but then drops to 1 cent if i vote for more than 3 or 4 things in a day or so. It is very important i think for folks like us to really focus on what is of interest to us and place our votes accordingly. I have seen my curration rewards go from .001 steem power to the range of .005-.01 or more depending on the post and payout.

my vote isn't even worth 2 cents yet (maybe 1.5), i followed @wang at steemstats.com his is a vote robot and got a lot more than you. up to .05 in some. following does work. wang's vote is worth like $10-15

The key is you have to vote before the whales votes on the content. Voting after a whale will give you little value.

I would agree with that, the only thing is, is that we dont know what the whales will vote on.

okay. following your advice...for next time. upvoted because such brought out people to take a time to reflect and answer to themselves on these points being made. Still deserves one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97