You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Call to HELP! Steemit is a haven for HOLOCAUST DENIERS and Anti-semites! (Read for yourself)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Great post.

You've earned a follow from me.

Always stand up for what you believe in even if it's not a comfortable conversation piece.

Cor aut mors.

A lot of this problem is marketing. They say that this is free speech and nothing is censored, so of course that is going to attract the fringe. I've noticed it myself. The interesting part is that this site functions more like an anarchist society and it's left to individuals to fight their own battles. A lot of people have a hard time grasping this concept.

Crazy attracts crazy I guess. I see a lot of white nationalist types here. The funny part is that they embrace all the same hatred as any other Nazi type but hold back just enough because they know a flag can affect their income.

Sort:  

Thank you! A lot of white nationalist indeed, already flagged someone for suggesting to round up all the liberal leftists to "purify the land". I posted this after seeing 4 articles on the subject, I mean I hardly peruse the "new" section mostly stick to Art related tags, how am I seeing this? If I'm seeing that many it's only the tip of the iceberg.

The thing about Steemit is that it's very anti-establishment which the extreme left and extreme right both are. "Conspiracy theorists" (myself included) who are anti-fiat against the federal reserve fall on the hard left and right, not usually in the middle. I think maybe that's why it operates as an "anarchist" society cause we're dealing with people on the fringe, self-sufficient creative types, entrepreneurs, many people who don't think or work for the status-quo. Example: A lot of "preppers"

"Celebrity Youtuber's" are coming to steemit because they can make money. My fear is that if we create a no-holds-barred environment popular hate groups from around the web will come here, profit and become more powerful. As long as enough people are flagging they will "hold back just enough", but if we're apathetic and don't stay vigilant it could become a cesspool. Alternative internet spaces are a haven for ALT-groups the constantly get banned in other places.

I can 100% agree.

As long as the opposition to this stays vigilant and tactful, we'll come out on top.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79