You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Every Writer and Blogger Should be Using Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

I agree with your last comment, you had a good idea, the best one for interactivity with comments. Not hard implement either.

This way the curators have got their votes in on the good articles (if they meet everyone's/majorities high standards) and then the whale (steemit funded account) votes - the curators then get rewarded for voting before the big account, that would be their reward for their efforts to curate.

This is what I wanted to do with SteemKURE. But now that the communities are coming out, I don't think my website is needed at all anymore.

But one thing:

apparently the incentive isn't great enough to comment because it really isn't happening often enough

That the psychological problem that is created once money is introduced into a competitive environment, where they don't comment to comment, but comment to get rewarded. That is bad intrinsic motivation, or lack thereof.

Why do I comment? To comment. Not to get rewards. Posts I do to also get rewarded, but not comments. I comment to add what I want to add to someone's topic, sometimes just to thank them. So there is that one thing for me. Comment to comment. Curate to curate. Not for rewards. Those are a bonus. It need to be about the content first, and thats what many of the users are failing to do.

Sort:  

With the comment to comment point, I will say I think you're right -
I guess when you put it that way it makes sense, people should just be interested enough to comment without the incentive.

I also agree it is a psychological problem and people now think to do anything on here you should be rewarded - that is why we need more people being driven here just to be viewers.

This way there would be more balance within the community, that is why I suggested highlighting comments - so there was a chance of reward, not that they should get it or deserve it necessarily, just encourage new users to enjoy what's already on offer and maybe stay active in the community that way.

I mean youtube videos can have hundreds of comments because the majority of people are viewers, and they receive no monetary benefits from this - it's about getting an audience for steemit.

And I think that is how the platform will become sustainable in the future, I just don't know how to make that happen.

Glad you liked the idea, I have heaps but not sure where to direct them really but @ausbitbank and I have long chats about different possible changes etc.

I really see the potential steemit has if it's handled well, the premise is brilliant - but if we can't bring in people just to watch and everyone on here is a creator the site can't be as amazing as it could be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64056.77
ETH 2654.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83