I Don't Like This... Blame Steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

When my expectations aren't met, I just blame Steemit:


"I invested in Steem at $3... Steemit crashed proving it's the worthless scam it is!"


"I'm not getting voted on... Steemit sucks, what a scam!"


"The whales have most of the SP... Steemit is a pyramid scheme!"


"People are powering down... Steemit is going to collapse!"


"The founders aren't making the changes I expect... Steemit is going to fail!"


"The front-end user interface is boring... Steemit is boring!"


"I don't like blogging... Steemit is worthless!"


"Steemit is not decentralized... Steemit is a tyranny by the founders and witnesses!"


"Steemit isn't an anarchy, there are rulers... Steemit is just like the government!"


"Steemit doesn't have anything new in a reputation system... it's just like society and government!"


"Steemit Inc. has too much power, they control everything on Steemit!"


"The miners are ruining everything! Steemit is going to fail!"


"The witnesses are overpaid, they have all the power to make the changes and don't listen to me!"


"The whales are all powering down, they are dumping and driving the price down, destroying Steemit!"


"Steemit is a ponzi scheme!... Period!"


"Look at all the problems with Steemit... Steemit just sucks overall!"


"There's not even a profile pic... wow... case closed... outta here!"


Alright... I couldn't think of anymore. Hahahaha...

It's somewhat amusing to read or hear people complain about certain things they don't like revolving around Steemit. Some grievances are really issues to consider and address, but the conclusions are people's frustrations and bitterness about how things now aren't the way they will be, or how someone personally wants them to be. I have uttered a few in my time here, but I see the ridiculousness of it now hehe...

If you have anymore to add, please do! I find it funny :)

Peace.


EDIT, additions inspired from @katharsisdrill, @meesterboom, @lemouth

"Pshhh flagging?... Steemit is pro-censorship just like everything else, no freedom on Steemit!"


"I quit my job to make money on Steemit... Steemit ruined my life!"


"My time is worth more than 1 cent... Facebook is way better than this Steemit junk!"


@krnel
2016-11-03 - 8am EST


Image source

Sort:  

Steemit is not decentralized... Steemit is a tyranny by the founders and witnesses!

This above all else puzzles me. It's entirely opt in. Tyranny is "cruel and oppressive government or rule." Anyone can leave whenever they like. 😔

Also, I think a lot of these complaints are done on purpose to force prices down. That way it's cheaper to buy. Then of course there's the people who are more likely to complain because they see others complaining. So it snowballs.

My only gripe with the platform is that this line from the whitepaper:

The third principle is that the community produces products to serve its members. This principle is exemplified by credit unions, food co-ops, and health sharing plans, which serve the members of their community rather than sell products or services to people outside the community.

is contradicted by the vest system. In a true co-op members have equal shares for equal buy-in (less inflation) and equal voting power. The reality is more corporate than co-op—which is fine if admitted. I think a co-op investment system would be better. But I'm not all doom and gloom because of it's absence.

we could sell Steemit as a "blame take all" pill to therapists. You know, when people go to therapy and they blame their mother for not taking care and their father for not expressing love and that actually made those people the pile of trash they are now, we could just package Steem in a pill and sell it to them: "It's not your mother, man, it's just Steemit. Go ahead, free yourself, now that you know. Roam free."

Bwahahaha! Perfect! Lol! 😂😂😂

Hahaha! LMAO! HEHEHE! YOU GUYS ARE O FUNNY TODAY! 😂😂😂

Once you get on several whale bot lists you can team up your arguments with them and really say whatever you want and feel justified that you are right.

Steem-ception.

These quotes cracked me up, thanks for sharing! It's amazing how much energy people waste complaining when they could be putting it to better use being productive and actually trying to improve their situations. I do kind of feel sorry for anyone who quit their jobs to "get rich quick" on Steemit or who put their life savings into Steem when it was at $4, though. Just because someone made an unwise decision doesn't mean they don't deserve a little sympathy.

I'm having more fun here than I ever did on Facebook. So I don't go on Facebook anymore.
Because I'm not on Facebook, my wife thinks I'm cheating and wants a divorce.
Damn you Steemit! You ruined my life!
But on the plus side, if enough people like my comment I might be able to buy a nice red sports car........


Don't get me wrong. It means he's impervious to the constant whining. However he cares about the platform I believe.

It's so true!! I invested my house and quit my job to earn from steemit now I am having to pay for my actions. Damn you steemit etc etc!!!

Thanks.

I added one based on it:

"I quit my job to make money on Steemit... Steemit ruined my life!"

Hehe, fantastic!

Thank you!! Those are my favorite!

You could add:

  • 'People are not commenting my posts... I am done with Steemit'
  • 'My time is more worthy than half a cent'

Which I have already seen a couple of times.

I would argue that a good comment system can make a site. However, the question is are we Blogger-esque—in which fewer comments is okay—or are we more Reddit-esque? Regardless, I would feel a better sense of community if people commented more. And, not just on my posts, but all posts.

I have often been myself sad due to the fact that so few people comment my posts (which I know may only interest a tiny fraction of users...). But being sad or disappointed is different from crying in public.

Thanks.

I added one based on it:

"My time is worth more than 1 cent... Facebook is way better than this Steemit junk!"

There's the whole flaggot thing. Suppression of the right of expression etc.

Flagging is in itself an expression.

Thanks.

I added one based on it:

"Pshhh flagging?... Steemit is pro-censorship just like everything else, no freedom on Steemit!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16