Steemit as Betaware and my expectation in its final release.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit as Betaware : 

We, 

As members of this privileged social media network shall keep in mind that : 

  • Steemit is presently a betaware and may not be feature complete.
  • Betaware implies that its likely to contain a large number of known or unknown bugs and errors.
  • Being a betaware also means  speed/performance issues is expected and still worse can cause crashes or data loss. 
  • Any Betaware undergoes extensive usability testing and its aim is to reduce negative impacts to users.
  •  Beta Release means this is the first time that the software is available outside of the organization that developed / owns  it. 
  • Beta stage is also called as a preview, preview release, prototype or technical preview. 
  •  During Beta stage new features and functionality are continually added to the software without establishing a firm "Final" release.
  • Specialized testers / coders who do the extensive testing are  called Beta testers they are the people who actively report issues of beta software. These testers also watch us closely, our usage patterns and our concerns too.

That's the reason I here air my concerns too, being a steemit member in the first year of its operation.

Now !

Does Teaming-up with steemit with our views make the site awesome ? 

What are the five features (or same features) I would love to see  in the final release ?

1. Steemit final release - hopefully sports the same GUI (present beta user front end)

Why? 

Because for me, its damn subtle and elegant and simply inviting, it does not scream about block-chain nor does it does talk of $9 offers :) for signing up. 

The present GUI interface is fantastic including the menu items -  hot/new/trending/promoted/active and the tagging system, all absolutely apt and lovable. 

Simplicity is the driving force here.

And I admit, that's the reason I signed up steemit !

2. Response time :

This is an area of concern for me.

Though I use 100 MBPS dedicated internet connection and all popular sites like YouTube, Facebook loads at blazing speeds, steemit speed sucks in this part of the world, I need to wait at-least 3-5  seconds on an average to read a post.

Response time and site speed has to improve multi-fold in the final release. No compromise on this one.

3. I love to see a new feature :

What is it ?

I write a simple content and If members (I'll not call steemians and you know the reason) do not up vote, its perfectly fine.

Because, I understand that they will do that only when they appreciate my content and members being the life and blood of steemit, their voting power is the tool they use to appreciate and encourage the fellow members.

But,

Can I know how many members read my post ? Is it not my forte to know that ? 

Read = 500 / Up-voted = 250

Can I see this feature in the final release please ????

4.  I love to see another feature too :

A trophy or a shield symbol in the profile for the most active and involved guys and girls at steemit (I am not talking about the one's who earned more steem dollars). 

The individuals who spend more time out here and perhaps burnt their midnight oil (early bird members of this community) to think, feel and contribute to this fantastic social media.

This helps users at large to follow them and thus grow too ...

Joy and Laughter,

Krish Madampath.


Image: 1







Sort:  

Isn't the red underline for spelling error something your browser does?

Probably, but how depends on the browser you're using. In Firefox it is under Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Check my spelling as I type. I have no other browsers here at the moment to check how they do this.

Response time: 3 seconds is the speed of the blockchain. Notice when you vote it's also three seconds? That's real time. No getting around it.

yes, thanks, the problem must be the speed of the blockchain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87