From one itty bitty minnow to another, steemit tips.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

idea-2520520_640.jpg

There are plenty of fish in the steemit sea.
I often see people in general chat and on steemit wanting to be noticed simply for existing on the steemit platform. Several factors play a role in earning money on steemit and building a following.

pizza-1809781_640.jpg

Think of existing on steemit as one piece of an xxxxlarge pizza. Then imagine that pizza having a bunch of little pizzas scattered all over it. When you have built this entire fictional pizza, with any luck, this is how you may get steemit success.
Luck actually seems to play quite a large role in getting noticed on steemit.

I have only been on steemit for a little under 3 weeks, so I don't have a ton of knowledge and experience. I have come across a few tidbits that I have found helpful in my own use of the platform.

So my fellow minnows, here are a few things I have learned. Hopefully, this list is useful to you, if not disregard, if so help yourself.

  • Network,network,network!

I can not stress this one enough. Talk to people, leave meaningful comments, ask questions.
Chat has helped me to network. I also make sure to comment often and respond to people.

  • Posting in the morning on weekdays will get you more exposure.

This is one I struggle with. A larger amount of steemians will see your content if you post at this time. I have read several steemit posts and talked to several members, who have reiterated this same piece of advice.

  • Write quality content and be consistent.

Post consistently, every post is a new opportunity to get someone's attention.
Make sure to not steal content, give credit where it is due. Put thought into your content, no matter what it is.

  • Asking for followers and upvotes isn't a very good approach.

I see this so often and I have never seen it work.
Mostly it just makes people aggravated. If you like someone's content follow them, if they like yours they may follow you back.

  • Research the platform.

Steemit is a very complex platform. I learn something new everyday. Doing a little research is helpful whenever you try something new. There are tons of articles on steemit and youtube videos that will help you better understand the platform.

  • Patience.

Take your time to grow a following, have patience. Focus on the community and the wonderful content found on steemit.
If you like a topic, write about it.
Took a nice photo, share it.
Not everyone will like everything you post, but some people will like some of it. Take a chance. Find your niche here. I'm not a photographer but I like to take pictures, sometimes they are nice. If I like them I share them.

A Penny Tossed is a Penny Caught.

I only throw pennies currently, but maybe a some point this year I will throw quarters.
Either way I have wasted years of my life on facebook and no one ever gave me a penny, let alone a dollar. Steemit isn't a get rich quick website. Put in the work, have some fun and catch those pennies.

As always, be kind.

picture source: pixabay.com

Sort:  

Well said.

And as you grow, don't forget to edit, edit, edit. I find that reading a post aloud (along with punctuation) helps me to discover my booboos. And folks, everyone makes editing errors. The power is in taking the time to review your post before putting it up.

Yell at me monday morning to resteem this.

Thanks clever. I will go back through it again.
I need to take my butt to the computer before posting. Instead of doing it all on my phone.

Yep.... I know it sucks, but it helps.

This goes for everyone... even those of us that truly write for a living. I have written thousands of reports, motions, complaints, etc. -- I still have to print those documents and hand edit them.

@clevercreator Thanks for resteeming this one it was in my feed when I woke up this morning. Always looking for new insights as to how this all works.

Uhhg...no mater how much I check for obvious errors I always seem to find more tweaking needs to be done after posting...and I've learned from the recent spat of bandwidth issues that editing an already posted piece takes from your allotted bandwidth. I think it's great we can now keep track of this at steemd.com(your name).

Question...how does one yell at another here...other than trying to reach them in the chat forums?

I'm with you, networking is the door to success at Steemit consistency and patience are just two parts of the tumbler that unlocks it. ✌️

It is a complex platform, I don't think a lot of people realize it. My pizza is far from complete. Thanks for taking the time to read it.

What can I say. I like free pizza.
Who doesn't?
~smiles~

I do love pizza.

Hot or cold?
Soft or crispy?
Sour cream or Tabasco sauce?
Fresh or day old?
With cold beer or soda pop?
Share or scarf for yourself?
Tired of all these questions...yet?
Thin crust or deep dish? ;p

Cold preferably, crispyish, neither, either, water, share, deepdish

I see you left one question unanswered. You are kind. ~smiles~

Congratulations @krazykrista! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post. You got me from the chat, I guess it must work.

Great tips and patience is number 1! Quality is rewarded by #

I think that you have the right approach Krista. I would also add that you have to be yourself and having fun through writing and sharing.

Thanks stratos, I find that within the last week I am sharing more and more for that exact reason. I am coming put of my steemit shell.

Thank you for the encouragement. I deleted my Facebook a couple of months ago and never looked back!

You're welcome! I still have a facebook and regularly share my steemit posts to it :)
Steemit is gaining in popularity quite quickly. I'm glad to be here.

We cant deny the importance of Facebook yet. Facebook is an important media to market your content and has greater reach than other social media platforms.

well done what a good post. You will go far here no doubt! lol STEEM ON! and following you ;)

Thanks for taking the time to read it sallybeth

A great post very informative being on here for under a month I still have a lot to learn so thanks for taking the time to write this

upvoted

You're welcome. I am learning new stuff everyday myself still. Thanks for taking the time to read it.

Hm, now I should write u some meaningful comment.

Or just kindly say well done, nice article. You gained a fresh follower, so i guess your theory works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35