Steemit etiquette question about upvoting ones own comment

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

I don't expect too many answers to this as I am not sure who would see it but maybe someone will see it who can give some guidance. I want to make sure I am not making any faux paus when it comes to steemit as I see how hard it is get ones reputation rating higher.
When I first started, I would up vote my own comments without knowing better but then found some who didn't like it and decided not to ever be the first to upvote my own comment. Now, I will vote after I get one vote so that i am not the first but am i still gaming the system?
Anyway. I know some don't care but I honestly don't want to do something that a lot of people may not be OK with. Anyway, pretty boring post but from a newbie who wants to do whats best and right. If there is a post of an article that you think is good, post it and i will check it out.

Image credit: Google search for free question mark image and selected from the pictures. This is my second attempt to list the link -

Sort:  

Most people wouldn't upvote their own comments though after the recent changes, more people started doing it as it is a relatively simple way to "game the system". I personally (and I've seen many other express the same sentiment) do this quite rarely and I don't think it's the best type of behavior for the future of the platform as a whole.

The idea of steemit is to be a social network and if everybody is saving their limited amount of votes for themselves, they are practically decreasing their interaction with the community and decreasing the value that they bring to it all.

Voting first or last doesn't affect the rewards directly, so it's the same type of taking advantage of the system.

Still, since you are a brand new member and the delegated steem power you are currently using to power up your votes will "leave" your account in a month, this might be considered an investment you are making in your future here. I'm still not a fan of the practice and I think that if you leave insightful comments (which I've seen you do) authors wouldn't mind upvoting them and that will foster engagement and will still help you build your account.

Making a piece of text a link is not very hard here.

This is an example:
[Markdown Styling Guide](https://guides.github.com/features/mastering-markdown/)

This is the syntax:
[text](link)

This is how it turns out in practice:
Markdown Styling Guide - you'll find more at the link ;)

Thank you very much for the information. I will start as a good rule of practice to not upvote my comments going forward as I know better. I am never the kind of person who does something knowing better and then ask for forgiveness. I rather earn what I get and know that I did it right.
Much appreciated on the markdown help, I did a lot of searching for how to center text but all i could find was how to bold and italic so far. I used to know HTML well but I noticed that it didn't work :o\

HTML should work, check what you're trying.

You center text by putting this html tag in front <center> and this html tag after </center>what you want to center. Notice the difference between the opening tag and the closing tag: /. That's html and works...

It works! :D

WoW i liked your post lets be friends follow me I'll do same lets start steemit friendship follow me on @x0l

As a newbie that's a great question, I hope someone aswer.

I did, but I'm just a month or two more experienced than a newbie ;)

Congratulations @krayzie29! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31