My Steemit.com story - A tale of a fulfilled dream

in #steemit7 years ago

This article is quite different from my usual content that is very much focused on gaming and my occasional creative works with Photoshop. This time, I’m here to tell you guys a story – a story of how Steemit allowed me to start doing what I love for a living.

dsf.jpg

But we should start at the beginning. Just a few months ago, I was nothing more then a pretty regular English teacher. I taught at a private school and dreamed of escaping this menial work. I wanted to get back to my dream of being a journalist. Or something similar to a journalist. I saw a way to that path, but it was a long and perilous one – of becoming a gaming Youtuber.

I knew that will take a long time before I will start to make any decent profit of Youtube videos, but I had my mind set already. So I built a computer, learned how to do video and audio editing and embarked on this journey.

Something was still chewing at the back of my head though “There must be a way to get to the end goal faster then in a few years.“Then I remembered “Oh, I know there was this site called Steemit that promised to give another source of revenue to people blogin. Wonder if I can upload my content there as well” and after a quick investigation – I found I can.

me.jpg
here's my picture

So I start doing that regularly. I wont lie. I was a bit discourages at first when my first post didn’t essentially have any payout and only manged to gather a whooping 10 upvotes. But I said to myself “Maybe the next one will do better”. And better it did. My second post managed to get 44 upvotes and make me about 12 dollars and 50 cents. I felt amazed. This was magnitudes higher then what Youtube promised me at my size. So I continued posting on, not really making much for some weeks. But then something changed and I started to get a payout of about 20 dollars regularly for each of my reviews.

This then continued on and I was super happy. I was making actual money of the two things I love to do – gaming and journalism. Then something that changed things for me happened. Steemtrail left a comment under a post of a new series I just started making – the daily new Steam game releases – and that post gathered more then 200 upvotes. I was simply amazed. Shortly after that I joined the Steemtrail project.

computer.jpg
my battlestation

A few months later another amazing thing happened. I was just sitting at home, having my work done and being bored some time – a video advertisement for Steemit. And that exactly the thing I created. While this advertisement didn’t bring me the largest payout ever – it did something better for me – it caught the eye of at that time the newly formed marketing team and I got invited into a group of people talking about Steemit and its future.

This over time lead to me getting more exposed to the backstage of Steemit, me joining a few discord channels and getting to know the community much more then I previously did. And I‘m more then glad that I did exactly that. I have met many new friends in the community.

Untitled-1.jpg
a few of my posts

Right now, my average payouts at about 150 Steem Power and 150 SBDs every single week. And you guys don‘t know how amazing that is for a person coming out of a country where the average wage is at around 1000 €.

To end this article I want to thank everyone on Steemit, but mainly the developers of this amazing site. You have allowed a dream to come true. Now I‘m a full time gaming journalist and I only teach a few of my favority students. And I don‘t need to do that – I do it just because I want to.

Sort:  

Such a great post to share. Such a nice read to learn a lil more about you bro. Congratulations as you continue to rise through the ranks doing what you do. Happy we had a chance to meet. Happy for all your continued success !!!!

Thanks Jacob :)
I usually like to keep my private life at least a bit separate from my work - but steemit has became much much more then just work for me :)

Great to read how you started here on Steemit. I have been a little bit absent from gaming over the last weeks, but when I get back and need some recommendations and reviews I know where to look. ;)

Keep it up, mate!

Glad you like my reviews :) I'm hoping to do this for a very long time :)

Steemit is changing lives for the better for every participant. Steemit is the revolution waiting to happen for mass audience, I've been saying it all along and will be saying it in the future. Steem on!

That is e very nice Story!

I've been a passionate german Lets Player on Youtube for about 2.5 years with moderate success. I have created a lot of content during this time, which has now reached a fairly high quality standard, at least according to my small community, which now consists of almost 300 subscribers. In order to live successfully with Youtube you need at least 1 million views a month, and that is not easy to achieve. Then I have stepped on Steemit and I am currently adding my content there chronologically and to continue to lead actively in the future. How exactly does the whole work here I do not know yet, but I'm very excited!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38