Will Steemit become a threat to minimum wage jobs?

in #steemit7 years ago

20160725_085616.jpg


I think it would be safe to say that everyone noticed how many more people joined our community over the past few months. That made me wonder if Steemit is going to grow so big that it becomes a competition to grudging employers around the world?

The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.


A lot of people in the states regardless of their age, race and background still work those minimum wage jobs 40 + hours a week, day in day out, earning pennies just to make ends meet. In my opinion, there's no excuse for corporations and large businesses to make thousands and millions of dollars a year while allowing their employees make just enough money to sustain their living. Why is it a common practice and why is it acceptable?

When I moved to the US, I got to experience the hardship of a store worker. Many of my coworkers already worked there for many years, they looked tired and it seemed that they just waited to clock out while multitasking 8-10 hours a day. I was a little shocked to learn that even though you have a particular job title you're responsible for a hundred more things and there is no time to be idle, how can a cashier be also a stock clerk, a sales person and a janitor all in one? Aren't there supposed to be more employees performing all these different tasks, and if not why are they still offered the bare minimum and not a lot more to cover each of those positions and according to their skills? I find this extremely unfair and one sided.
Anyway, while working there I met a lot of different people, some of them were interesting and talented fellows, some of them were just tired and sad, some would come and go before you get to know their name, but there was one thing all of them seemed to have in common it is struggle.


Image source

It isn't a whole lot, but last week I made slightly over $200 on here and it is about as much as I was getting paid at the store after taxes, it blew my mind thinking about it.

Steemit offers a new alternative way of income for everyone who is willing to share knowledge, promote positive ideas, help each other grow and become independent. It is impressive how many lives it already changed around the world, and I am curious to see how much more it is capable of, it is a pleasure to be a part of this community.

Perhaps it is not going to intimidate a vast majority of greedy companies out there, but I hope that many of them begin to appreciate their employees and start providing adequate rewards.

Sort:  

Interesting post. I have been also thinking a lot about these things. They still need minimum wage workers to run their economy so if they detect a large threat to that system I would assume they would move to squash that threat. Meanwhile minimum wage pays well below poverty. In the depressed area I am in the gov says it takes 45k a year just to pay the cost of living...thats not anything to do with thriving and making a future...only paying for your basic needs. Life in the usa is extermely inflated artificial and is exponentially more difficult because people compete, argue and divorce instead of working together to refuse oppressive policy and work plans to become wealthy. So they have allowed internet income in exchange for knowing everything about people. They have permitted crypto currency. Meanwhile their history has been to outlaw innovation, then monopolize and resell. Brit gov talking inernet regulation this week. It's an interesting time. It could be a golden age. It could be the beginnig of the new cycle.. freedom prosperity. It could get squashed by the tank and bomb people. I dont know i wonder about these things a lot. But meanwhile it is sooo awesome that you pulled in 200 last week.

The main way the government could squash the competition for minimum wage jobs is to raise minimum wage. Then again, it wouldn't really be necessary because employers could just do that if they detect locally that they are having a difficult time hiring because crypto-workers are taking up all the available "labor hours" in the marketplace.

You make great points Ann. Its one big constant struggle. It kills me to see it, and the worse thing is you can't really help all of the people you encounter.

I hope I can achieve minimum wage, on here! That sure would be nice.

Thank you, Jesse!
I agree, hopefully all of us can become prosperous thanks to Steemit!

It looks like we are on our way there!
Also, think of how many "jobs" Steemit has created. All the people pecking away at their computers. Its literally paying people's bills.

I know! Isn't it amazing! I'm excited for what's to come :)
Hey, where do you live now?

Same here.
Like 1 min walking distance from my last place. In Cumberland, its over the mountain from Whitesberg. Lol

I was wondering if you moved to a different city! Cool!

Nope. Well guess what!
We have took Titty outside a few times. We have a little tiny back patio that is fenced in. He can now go outside! But not unattended.

Oh that's cool! Did he hunt any bugs?
Lena hunted some earth worms a couple weeks back and brought a fat and nasty one into the house, ewww!

Hadn't really thought of that dynamic. It very well could, but likely only to an extend because in the end people still need to be willing to spend money to buy steem/SBD or trade it for value of something. Someone needs to be on the other end of that transaction ;-)

Yeah for sure, it was just an idea before I go to sleep haha

Cool, definitely a good point. It will probably still some of the minimum wage workforce. Night night..haha

I hope it does, or at least I hope that people will be getting higher hourly rates, it sucks that they have to spend most of their lives at a job they dislike . . .
Thanks! Goodnight to you as well :)

A few things...

First, minimum wage laws were designed to keep low skilled workers out of the workforce. Raising them just outlaws disadvantaged people from working. Outlaw low skilled jobs, and you outlaw low skilled workers. This is why the Democratic party keeps pushing for higher wages. Keep low skilled and disadvantaged workers out of the work force so that they don't compete with the largely white unions who support the Democratic party.

Second, minimum wage jobs are entry level jobs. In order to not be stuck working for minimum wage, there are many opportunities available in the West to learn new skills and make yourself more marketable. In fact, even during the downturn in oil and gas in - I had a hard time hiring people. We regularly hire people straight out of high school - and these young people can earn upwards of $80,000 in their first year. But guess what? Nobody wants to actually WORK. I can't give these jobs away... SO guess what? Supply and demand comrades, I have to keep raising wages. That job down at the Circle K? Ya, well they get all kinds of applicants, the job does not create much wealth, the supply of potential employees is high, and the demand low... I appreciate that the people in these jobs may be working HARD, but why work hard at something that is only creating a little wealth? Look around, where is the money? Go there..

If you don't want to work for minimum wage, you must choose a career path that creates more wealth!! Flipping a burger patty results in a product that can have a $1 mark-up. You are right that McDonalds makes billions - but they make very little PER WORKER. We can have $20/hr burger flippers sure, but we will also have $30 Big Macs. Pay each of your millions of workers even a small amount more results in zero profit. So the choice becomes either more expensive Big Macs, automation, or no more McDonalds. Working on an oil well results in a product that can profit millions of dollars continuously for years! You get paid according to the wealth you create. This stuff used to be middle school economics.

And, finally - YES!! Just like entry level jobs in the oilpatch compete with minimum wage jobs, so does STEEMIT! What a great opportunity!!

Of course, even here in STEEMLAND, there will be people who are naturally skilled, others who are personable, and others who are great writers, photographers, and artists. Others will create apps, bots, websites, and groups. Some will invest large amounts of their already earned wealth into steem power, some will buy advertising to draw in users, some will hustle to get votes so they can be a witness. Others will help minnows turn into dolphins and dolphins into whales... They will make a good living here ( if they combine these efforts, they will make a great living).

BUT, if people come here and complain that they aren't getting rewarded, they aren't very friendly, they don't put time into learning to write, or present an idea/argument, don't learn to create art, or take great pictures, or don't try to engage and improve the community, they won't make much. Just like the store clerk, they can work HARD, but if they work hard at something that doesn't create wealth, being here is no different than being anywhere else...

Excellent point! I agree with you that it's not going to change much for people who don't put any effort in what they are doing, but it's a beautiful alternative for anyone who is willing to try to do better for themselves and the community.

A veritable clinic. You said it far better than I did and thank you. Yes, while steemit itself is an example of why actually free markets are the best and most benevolent way to organize labor -- it's still very common in our culture to villify any company or "corporation" because profit is bad--- Yet we all want money ourselves....

In a place like India where I am from, $200 per week is a very good wage (a good college graduate would earn around that much). So by the standards of our country steemit is almost a goldmine :)

Yeah this is another great thing about steemit, it can help so many people around the world make a decent living!

Businesses not caring about their employees is nothing new. They're in it for profit, and only profit. Heck, some of them even wish to give you even less than the minum wage if they could so that they keep more profit for themselves. It's a greedy world out there. But I agree with you on Steemit, it has the potential to change this, even for non-writers.

I'd disagree. Where I work, the ownership and management are at least very outwardly concerned about my needs. If I'm tired, if I'm hungry, if I dislike something about my working envirement. They're inredibly supportive and responsive. I used to own my own business but I had the hardest time finding and affording the type of team that I have around me where I work now. I get paid well, but I make my company 5x what they pay me, at least. Not all employers are evil, I think we just tend to think of the mega companies even though most of the economy is really small and medium sized businesses.

I guess blogger is going to be a popular job in near future....Internet has great power to change people s life.
I heard a story about a blogger try out different kind of shoes in live blogging and she got thousands of dollars in return . It s unbelievable but real....

Yeah, the internet changed the way we do things in a big-big way now, it's crazy to think about. Some people can make a lot of money doing anything if they have a decent amount of followers, that takes time.

I know Steemit is going to replace MY dead end job. I make $9/h for 40 hours a week, and it leaves me exhausted and iritable.

Steemit is the best thing to happen to me in years!

I hope you do boot the crappy job. Whether you get something better paying in the 'physical realm' or if you just kick it hardcore on Steemit and Ethlane and all that good stuff, wishing you well!

That is fantastic!!! Glad to hear it!!!
Steem on :)

lol no. not everyone can write or make enough money through posting here (at least as of now) . I don't think the situation will change either, but the early adopters (we) might benefit with more adoption

Of course it isn't for everyone, I didn't think all workers were gonna quit and start steeming instead, it does require some skills and a little luck. It still can help a lot of people.

Its a possibility.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42