Getting Attacked By Robots

in #steemit6 years ago


Source: Pixabay

Does anybody else is noticing it?

f.JPG

I feel like every time I publish a post I get bombarded by a bunch of bots starting to follow my account. God damn . . . who created them?

Just a while back I saw another post by a @curatorcat whose blog was also followed by a lot of non humans, lets put it this way haha.

As you guys know, I have a separate blog for my baby kitties, and they were no exception when it comes to this bot invasion :0

h.JPG

So what is up?!

Sort:  

Some people use this method. They follow everyone and all it takes is that 10 percent follows back and then they have a lot of followers, I guess that is what the goal is otherwise it's mysterious

Well, I guess I see the point . . . sorta. Having followers though doesn't guarantee upvotes. I feel like it might as well be a stupid idea. Mass following still can make sense if you have a decent blog.

i completely agree with you!

That is defiently their goal - to gain thousands of 'followers' so then they can charge and become one of those resteem bots - the ones with barely any value.

Hmm... good thinking. It is a major goal in my opinion. I usually don't pay attention to resteem bots sending me messages in wallet, but I am sure new folks would.

Yeah I have used a few of them in the past but most are pretty trashy and dont add to much value

that definitely sounds logical, i guess that is why the resteem services suck.

Yeah I agree most of the resteem services arent the best - mainly full of inactive followers.

I have started using the following service and had great results:

https://steemit.com/resteem/@youngogmarqs/introducing-yogi-s-resteem-service-by-youngogmarqs-a-profitable-resteem-service

I've noticed the same thing happening to me anytime I publish a video to Dlive or do a live stream. I've seen several other people getting a big influx of bot followers as well besides myself, really not sure what the hell is going on.

It is definitely pretty weird. I didn't experience that before for sure. Well, probably since last week, it is strange . . . I just made this post about 5 minutes ago, but there I go, yay!
h.JPG

Most of these accounts are inactive bots. I’m guessing there’s an element of namesquatting in it (I’ve seen some known names) but there’s also just spam armies and maybe even witness vote and upvote spam bot farms. I turned notifications for news follows off in @GINAbot as it had become too much clutter but they pretty much all had only the minimum 15SP and super low rep.

Maybe they’re created by somebody who intends to sell accounts with thousands of followers. Welcome to the gray hat zone.

Yeah, makes sense. Although if I were to make an account on Steemit and my name was taken, I would probably come up with something different, unless I knew for sure there was a username market. It could be a good idea, sort of . . . to sell names that is, but I don't see it being profitable or ever going big, who knows though.
It feels like there is less and less people interacting on here anymore, it's sad.

Happening to me lately as well. A bot army is following me everytime I post something and by my last post they also upvoted it with their 15 SP...The interesting thing is all of them are new accounts and powering down.

That is crazy, I don't think I had those bots upvote my posts yet, I wish hahaha

Who knows what’s up, but I hope it stops. However if it’s bot mass follow and unfollow but less spam comments then i prefer it.

Makes sense haha. I don't think I get as much spam in comments as I used to. I usually flag them all!

I love cats hahaha and I could laugh at seeing these beautiful kittens fly or jump hahahaha they are beautiful, I confess that I can not stop seeing this picture.

Now with regard to the robots are right happens a lot a few days ago I went to my followers to see who follows me and I realized that I have so many pages that what they do is retest or leave comment spam the truth I do not understand why these count

Agreed, cats are my favorite as well :)

Yeah, this botnet is huge. At first I got excited having so many people follow me, then I realized they weren't actually people. Oh well.

If you usually give emotion you think you are very popular or something like that hahaha then you realize that you do not also have so many followers at the time of publishing those people if they like your content should give you their vote but not only make these robots bulk

Very true, my friend.

Yeah, it happens to me every time I post, too. Now the platform has 1 million users. It seems that most of them are just bots. It sounds like things are on Steemit not very good really. And the real people here are much less than 1 million.

Oh for sure. I wonder how many active users are on Steemit, speaking of which I haven't checked any statistics in a looooooooong time, probably should do it sometime.

I've seen that too. The worst part some unfollow and refollow the next post.

Oh yeah, definitely. It is so stupid, I had same account follow and unfollow me for months, ridiculous.

It's happened to me too. I used to get so happy when I first started out then I learned that 90% of them are just bots. There is a steemian that once told me that some bots just be waiting for somebody to use a tag for the first time and then they follow him. To what end I don't know. I was was able to confirm this last week when I posted with dlive and got at 30 followers in less than 5 minutes.
Still even when I'm not using a new tag or even posting I do sometimes see them following then unfollowing me. Smh

Who knows, probably. I pretty much use the same tags for all of my posts because I mainly blog about food and they still follow every time, I haven't seen it happen before, it's just the last couple weeks that I started noticing them follow like crazy haha.

Так же сталкиваюсь с этим, не обращаю внимание, когда после публикации сразу идет какая-то подписка...

Мгм, постоянно.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65