Poloniex seized by the government

in #steemit7 years ago

AQ6nUIJ.png
So I was looking online and I just seen this post saying that poloniex is seized. That's really upsetting regarding the people that still have coins and that Exchange. One person said they lost 57000 dollars in coins which is very very upsetting. I don't know if any of you had money in poloniex but I starting to see that it's been seized by the government and the owner of poloniex got arrested.

I feel bad for everyone who lost coins in poloniex.
Just thought I'd give everyone this update.

steemit2.gif

Sort:  

I have a Poloniex account and logged into it just fine, this minute. I am currently in Canada though.. maybe other areas are having issues. What I think the previous post was getting at.

It looks like Poloniex is now denying access from a few US states according to their new TOS.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/themerkle.com/poloniex-updates-terms-and-conditions-with-some-interesting-changes/amp/

Im in Arizona an have no access. There is no website just an error message.

How is that any different than Greece or Venezuela seizing citizens bank accounts to fund the government? They aren't getting a cut so they just take it? I'm more disgusted with our government everyday. Unfortunately, there's really nowhere in the world to go where the government hasn't gotten just a wacky.

I know the feeling pain taxes and they do this to us. It does really enrage me that people can come up with great things but we have the government to just take it away. Thank you for your comment by the way

You sir, deserve more upvotes.

Thank God! I read this post right after reading an article about how Poloniex was forced to change their TOS out of the blue earlier today or yesterday, and feared the Feds we're shutting it down.

I'm glad I took my Bitcoins off of poloniex 2 weeks ago. But I know there are thousands of people that used it there were US citizens

I took all but a few bytecoin off Poloniex just days ago, and I couldn't take that off because they said they were having problems with that wallet. Overall, with everything happening in crypto lately I've come out okay, but lately what I've seen shouts out to me one resounding lesson:

YOUR KEYS; YOUR COIN! NOT YOUR KEYS; NOT YOUR COIN!

Keep driving home that point to newcomers with posts like these!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51