Minneapolis Steemit Meetup and July's State of the Union!

in #steemit7 years ago

Good afternoon, Steemit! Today’s been a big day and it isn’t even close to being over yet. I’m going to warn you, this blog is going to be a hodgepodge of current events, many of which not relating to one another. Each of the following will probably have their own respective post in the next few days, but for now, here’s a look at the cascading events worthy of being noted in my life.

I started the afternoon meeting with Bob and Kelly Ballard of @wcpublishing […yeah, you read that right! During my last meeting with them, I left evangelizing the Steemit gospel and by today, they’d told me they’d joined our ranks]. We discussed the details of our upcoming book, “Dark Pinup”. We set some dates for the pre-sale and release party at next Spring’s Viva Las Vegas. We also decided on a size. Either a 10” x 6” or 11” x 7” portrait style book. 

Working with Bob and Kelly has been incredible. They’re both extremely hard working […the Working Class Publishing title is deservedly earned] and passionate about printing. They both tap in to a life long appreciation I’ve had for detail and design. Discussing details like UV print and embossing and comparing examples of other exceptional books like Ellen Von Unwerth’s “Revenge” is bringing “Dark Pinup” to life with each meeting. I’ll be seeing both of them again in a few weeks and we’ll begin laying out pages. I’ll be asking @thomaskuntzart to write the forward for the book. 

In crypto news, I’ve been buying up more EOS. I’ve gone in for about three rounds, but after the shoots I just completed in NYC, I had some extra money to pick up another 500. I’m new to all of this and possess far less cryptocurrency knowledge than @mada and @lovejoy, but my instincts tell me EOS is going to be revolutionary. My long term plays are all Graphene. My mom, @bonni, called me last night and said while the market was down she wanted to buy in to something; whatever I felt good about. She Paypal’ed me some money and she’s currently the proud new owner of a significant EOS bounty. That’s so cool. Can you imagine in a year or two when her friends are just coming around to Bitcoin discussions how badass she’s going to be when she schools them on her EOS gains?!

Magic: The Gathering is coming at tumultuous time for me. Life is moving very, very fast. We just got back from this long east coast trip, I still have Viva Las Vegas edits to get back to clients, I’m still struggling to fall in to my routine, and now Wizards Of The Coast releases the next expansion, “Hour Of Devastation”! @vermillionfox and I ordered a booster box, bundle and two planeswalker decks, so there is a thorough “Hour Of Devastation” blog coming soon. Early feelings are that this is an brutal set breathing even more life […or death] in to what was established in Amonkhet. If you’d like to read my last MTG wrap up, have a look at “Magic: The Gathering - Aether Revolt and Amonkhet review!”.

So, now that brings me to the current time of 5:00p.m. CST and myself, @vermillionfox, @mooney, @mada, @lovejoy, @tarotbyfergus and probably a few others are preparing to leave uptown for @timcliff’s Steemit Meetup. Steemit has become a big enough part of our lives that I actually booked my trip to NYC around this event. I can’t wait to see so many familiar faces and meet new ones. I’m crazy proud of our Minneapolis Steemit community and this’ll be the perfect gathering to celebrate the growth in the Twin Cities. I’ll be bringing my camera. Another post to follow.

Thanks for reading! I post often. For more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on life, follow me @kommienezuspadt. Good morrow!

Sort:  

Good afternoon man. Its already sunday morning here :-)

Thanks @stefen! It is always Sunday morning. Yes. Always. Sunday.

Hi Lars, thanks for the progress update. I am looking forward to the Dark Pinup release, I will 100% purchase when you get to the pre-order stage - I don't even need a preview - I trust in your work just from what you share with us here. I like the portrait style layout, 11” x 7”, for your photographs I would say bigger is better - for the details. Definitely opt for the better quality paper, uv protection, etc. You have great work, you know that, so presented in the best way.

On as side note, you inspired me to create an account for my son as well, he is following @guthrie account now. He has been asking me to post things he creates on my blog, I was debating his own, and after seeing your post for your son I decided to go for it. It's a great way to teach responsibility and working hard to "earn" rewards for those efforts.

Take care.

That's amazing that you created an account for your son! I'm a freelance artist so a savings for @guthrie is always tough. This is a way that I can share the things he's doing in his life and the money earned will be going to his future. I think it's a great idea and glad you decided to go for it.

Thank you, regarding the Dark Pinup book. Actually, my publishers just joined Steemit. Follow them at @wcpublishing. Hard working, great people. I agree about the size. 11" x 7" feels right. It depends on the price the book printing company comes back with. 10" x 6" may be a lot cheaper. I love that @wcpublishing was excited about a new size. They've never done a photography book at that dimension.

Yes, I saw your resteem for your publisher and I also bookmarked their website. True, initial price point for development carries a lot of weight in the decision. I can't wait to see how it comes out.

I agree, with saving for our kids' futures, learning to earn and save from a young age will go a long way.

This is awesome. Truly great to see Minneapolis has such a thriving community. I've been there twice, it seems very vibrant and progressive for a Midwest city. Can't wait to hear how the meeting turns out. Greet the legend that is @timcliff for me.

Seriously, @bleedpoet! @timcliff is such a force of nature in this space. He's done so much for the community. Even when I was having trouble setting up my son @guthrie's account, @timcliff spent a lot of time walking me through the process with no incentive other than furthering Steemit and helping a stranger. Minneapolis is a great city. We're sort of a progressive island in the middle of a scary midwest, lol. Thanks for the comment!

EOS is certainly the way to go!
I have yet to learn to play Magic! I have some pretty good decks my students had made for me but we never got around to it since my theater class took up so much time!
Looking forward to your Steemit Meet-Up post!
Lovely day to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76