Try Upvoting the little guys! Because it is profitable!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am a dolphin on steem, I have been around for a while and have 50k+ SP. That is a decent chunk of change for me and comes with a little bit of responsibility to use this power wisely and to the benefit of both myself and this platform.

apple-2391_960_720.jpg

To that end I try to be active here on a daily basis, at least reading and upvoting content. When doing that I look for two things:

  • I am a little selfish and I want to earn some form of curation reward. It is not the only priority but most of the time a factor.
  • I focus on new authors or unpopular authors that write decent content

The thing is that both of these strategies actually work together, because when there are not many up votes you will gain most of the curation rewards since you will have contributed close to all or a great majority of the voting power. As a result this is actually a very profitable strategy. And btw this includes comments on your own and other posts.

And it is simply good to support the up and coming.

hands-2545754_960_720.jpg

Let me show you an example. Below is a screenshot of my curation reward. You can see I got some decent money (1.9SP) for a post from exxodus. Thats a lot for me. This is a little bit of exception because I was the first guy to up vote and then some other guy put a bigger vote ontop, which is perfect for my curation reward. This shows, discovering great content that then gets uprooted by others is still the best way to gain curation rewards and you can't lucky this way.

However I want to take a look at the rewards from dkpoker. As a poker player I value poker content and dkpoker has posted lots of it, even though he did not get much rewards for them yet. So I want to reward him and my votes should mean a lot for him relative to what he is used to. This is a perfect way for me to use my tiny bit of influence and reward content that I like to see here.

Screen Shot 2017-10-05 at 2.58.36 PM.png

Below is the actual post and who voted on it.
Screen Shot 2017-10-05 at 2.58.56 PM.png

Practically all the voting power came from me. As a result I get a pretty a large portion of the curation rewards, which is $1.22. or 1 SP.

Making 25% of what we give away in votes is a pretty good deal since this is what curation should yield on average and if you are not a bot, you will likely do much worse than this most of the time.

As a result you can combine your desire to be financially effective, support the platform and vote for things that you like very well by voting for unpopular post and especially from new users.

If you do this then you increase the level of decentralization of steem and help new users and grow the value of this community all by putting a bit more money into your pocket at the same time.

So I encourage you to do it more.

hands-2545754_960_720.jpg

Of course I don't only vote like this. There are many post I simply like and then I will up vote them. You can see an example above from the post from @surfermarly. I saw her post late but I always up vote her post because I love her and what she does here on this platform. So I can live with losing $0.5 by voting for her instead of some other post.

But overall I think it is healthy for both my immediate financial income and for the platform as whole if we spend some of our energy in finding that special content author that has not been discovered yet, reward them and make steem do what steem has been designed to do.

Thanks for your attention and votes!

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed for great content
Thanks for sharing

Thank you for your constant support!

Yes, @lordoftruth is a great supporter as well.

You are welcome
Happy to be one of your followers
Always you will have my support for your great contents
Thanks for your continue support to my work

It makes me happy to read this, i have quite some SP as well and i am also spending my votes with intent of making the platform grow. There are ways for us to easily make 10-20% a year but they are contraproductive to growth of Steemit and growth we want. Happy users, more users, more demand for Steem and going for 200-300% in a few years, that is the big shot we have to think about and act accordingly. Very nice strategy @knircky!!!

Thank you for your comment. I had not noticed you yet, but you do a new follower now!

Exactly! I'm so glad that there are people like @knircky, you and me who have this mindset.

Nice to connect @freiheit50, dolphins united :-) Clicked on Follow but will have to see if i manage to read German. I am from Belgium (Dutch) and got some German in school but very rusty i am afraid, let's see, at least i understand your Steemit name and i like it :-)

Thanks a lot! I think it quite easy to understand German for dutch speaking people. If not, you can use google translate. I by myself use this tool even for Korean, Norwegian and other languages. But I always translate to English, not to German.

It s not only good for your curation reward , it s also good for the community , as new users will feel good if they get some rewards and will stay here. I m happy that there are people like you who don t spent all their votes on their own or only upvote whales .

You have provided a new and very effective method for curation, really helpful.

yep and you should mention about 30 minute rule, because if we upvote post what just created we receive 0.1% and not 25%, not many know this formula :)

This is true. I wanted to keep it simple and focused on one topic. But yes!

Those are great values to uphold good sir.

I've commented a similar thing today on another post, if this site is genuinely about curation of good content then that's where votes need to go. I can see as personalities and the community grows perhaps really decent content can get lost to the plethora of highly popular authors posting very regular content that sometimes might not be as strong as it's value might suggest. I'm not saying that's a general rule as there are also loads of popular, regular authors who happen to smash it out the park everytime with rich entertaining content. Papa-pepper being one of those for example. And for sure these guys are what keeps the platform greased with regular content and discussion, but I think there's also the chance that people will vote for an author's content who they support, regardless of the true value, as they have an emotional affinity to the author. It's natural for that to happen, and it's reflective of real life but perhaps not a proper "curation" technique...

Thumbs up for taking a considered and balanced approach rather than solely for personal gains.

Also, like @stellabelle just wrote in another post - you never know if you're talking to a future Whale! Maybe even a Golden Whale, and maybe they upvote ALL your content for giving them a chance early on...we're all whales at heart :P

Hello Friend @knircky! You are a worthy example! Thank you for reading my blog! Life is Beautiful! Have a good weekend!

Good stuff man, as I dolphin the majority of votes go to the minnows I have met through minnow support project. Plus, minnows are the majority of the votes I receive, so it's fitting. :-)

Thank you for writing about this.
It somehow feels to me like it is so hard to get upvotes or to really interact with people on here.
I am so not used to coming onto a new social media platform and not knowing anybody.
So thanks for the dolphin support to us minnows.
🐬🙏🏼💙

I am delighted to read this from you. It means there is hope for people like us who are coming up on steem. It takes people with large heart and good will to have your kind of mind set. Thank you and keep it up. Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97