You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revamping Curation Is The Way To Increase Steem Power Demand

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Great point and thank you for the link.

I think whales making lots of money is not a problem. The issue is that the curation system does not do what it's supposed to do.

So looking at who gets how much is asking the wrong question.

Sort:  

Part of the reason it probably doesn't do what it is supposed to do is low participation on the lower end of the SP wealth spectrum. By cutting the pool in half it doubled the amount of SP someone has to have to earn any curation rewards at all. This excludes many people on the lower end from participating and for those that barely do make the cut, the rewards are still very small (specifically half of what they would be otherwise).

It is true that people with low SP don't vote as much.

However the main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing. And the main reason why curation does not work is because it is not profitable to vote for what you like, but what others vote for exactly 30 minutes after a post was created.

This is best done by a bot. But we want people to vote for what they like and people get rewarded if they create content others love.

So the overall algo needs to be reviewed with this goal and the data from past experience in mind.

My feeling from what I read is that we are a little bit not accepting reality here and trying to come up with excuses.

It does not matter if fewer people vote if they still vote according to the right objective.

@smooth Thank you for the dialog and thank you for your work and input. Have you read my proposal to make steem better via bounties?

@knircky I do not believe I read your post about bounties. I mean no disrespect by not reading a post but frankly my time is limited and I can't read every post, explore every idea, etc. I wish I could.

@smooth I understand. Please do. I really think it is worth your time. it as a short summary, maybe u can check that out. I wrote the summary exactly for people like you who don't have time reading the whole thing.

Some points from my post:

Bounties could be used to create cash-inflows that will allow growth and value without sending away value of the ecosystem.
Anyone could ask the internet a question, put a bounty on it and the world would compete for the best answer. As such bounties could be a whole new way information exchange on the internet can be rewarded.
...steem can create one more new monetization layer for the internet and become much more valuable than just with one way of monetizing its content.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@knircky/the-potential-of-bounties-an-improvement-proposal-for-steem-to-double-its-value

I would really like to hear what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38