You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curator's Slider - Steemit development

in #steemit7 years ago

Wow wow, this issue of vote selling has really got me thinking. Fact is, this would really discourage many original writers because it becomes clearer that your content isn't useful to the full house .

If a whale decides to sell off his votes, he or she should be aware that his name can be seen on posts which on a normal day, he wouldn't go near. Not that they care, as long as hey get their money's worth.

I still believe that we have some different thinking 🐋 's .... @stellabelle

Long story cut short, the slider is a fantastic idea, but who is to say that it wouldn't be exploited too.

People come to steemit to find solace in being themselves and benefiting from it.

So my point? Let's preach STEEMIT as we all found it, and as it all found us . That way, we all will enjoy all that this blessed community has to offer.

@klynic
#concernedsteemian

Sort:  

Yes, it can be discouraging for real writes, providers, artists and that is why it needs to change. Hoping people will not scam is not going to cut it.

Everything is exploitable and this is why it must be reconfigured so the exploit i to reward better quality content and the curators who find it.

Exactly. It's about creating the right incentives.

I joined Steemit more than a year ago but then was away for 14 months so I'm just recently diving in to learn how this works.

I read on one post something like "the best strategy is to find a post that is 30 minutes old and doesn't have any votes." The author admits that it is hard/impossible to find those, but suppose one could find them - simply voting for those posts is not curating good content. One could make the argument that it is exactly the opposite (except, of course, if we account for the fact that some curators found the post early, thought it was good content and decided to wait on the vote for maximum payout).

It just strikes me that some are just hunting for lucky votes instead of trying to find good content.

Of course, I don't really understand how the rewards work for early votes, etc? Do you know how the curation reward is divided exactly? What is the reward for finding a post first, even if you vote within the first couple minutes?

From my understanding, if you vote in the first few minutes you are penalised heavily for voting early. After 15 minutes it is 50% penalty, after 30, 0% penalty. those that vote after you have an effect that increase the curation reward. If there are a lot after you, you can get several times more value for your vote than the initial vote was worth.

There must be a better explanation though out there.

In my understanding, it's not really a penalty. It's a split with the author. There is some reward I will, potentially, get for my vote. If I vote after fifteen minutes, I am "giving" half of that reward to the author. If I wait until thirty minutes, I get it all.

But from everything I've read, it's clear that the potential reward is greater when it's early. I wondered if maybe you knew by how much - either you have learned from experiments or have read something written recently about it. Some of what I've read about it is outdated.

It just strikes me that some are just hunting for lucky votes instead of trying to find good content.

Yes @whs. That strikes me too. ¡Big Time!

In my understanding, it's not really a penalty. It's a split with the author. There is some reward I will, potentially, get for my vote. If I vote after fifteen minutes, I am "giving" half of that reward to the author. If I wait until thirty minutes, I get it all.

Oh boy! and on this second quote, you've just hit the nail on the head with a big/fat demolition ball. Your understanding of this is way too accurate. Actually, I think it is exactly what @tarazkp is describing in his curation slider proposal as the goals. Only, that this one that you understand so well is the invisible one from the sight, brains and everyone's rationality. :)

On other hand, I also wonder IF... SP delegation purchases are: To ¿Support one another? ¿Extract value from the authors? or Add value to the authors?

Cheers!!