Introducing #steemshave - Donating +50% of All SBD Earned to Charity!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

In preparation for the upcoming "Movember" which can be traced back at early as 1999 but officially started in 2004 and popularized in 2007 which saw men all across Australia, Denmark, Canada, Ireland, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Spain, Israel, South Africa, Taiwan and the United States growing out their moustaches as a show their support in the fight against depression, prostate and various other forms of cancer I've decided to try and start our own sort of similar charity / awareness campaign here on Steemit.com.

What Exactly is #steemshave ???

As a community appointed STEEM Witness and Ambassador who spends a large portion of their waking hours on Steemit.com reading various post offerings from our community I can't help but notice for lack of a better term the amount of "neckbeards" we've got growing here on the STEEM Network.

Now don't take me the wrong way or think that I'm making fun of anyone here. I'm sporting an extremely healthy / fluffy neckbeard myself currently and I think it's about time as a community that we cleaned up our facial hair a little bit! Of course if it was done for a good cause that makes it even better.

This is why I'm proposing the following #steemshave campaign in order to raise funds and awareness for charities of your own choosings while taking part in the October 2016 #steemshave campaign.

A rough set of #steemshave guidelines is outlined below:

  • You're either self appointed or nominated by another member of the STEEM community
  • You must create a video and share it on Steemit.com with the #steemshave tag featuring you taming the face fuzz either entirely or partially.. But with bonus points given out for those choosing the clean shaven route!
  • 50% (or more) of the SteemDollar payout of the post raised is paid to an established charity of your choosing
  • 100% of the STEEM payout from the post is used to power up your account or some other user
  • Some form of proof of you donating the SteemDollars to the charity is given afterwards to verify your pledge
  • Once you've completed your #steemshave you can nominate up to 3 other Steemit users

Those who are nominated for the #steemshave challenge but would rather not trim up due to personal, religious or other reasons are asked to respectfully decline the challenge but encouraged to make a donation anyways on behalf of the STEEM community and #steemshave to show their support in lieu of opting out of a good shave.

What Charities or Organizations Should I Donate to?

There is no right answer to this in my opinion. Donate to something that you believe makes a difference as well as that has affected you in your life in way shape or form. Be it a sick family member, wanting to help impoverished countries or helping animal shelters I'm sure every user on Steemit can find something they wouldn't mind donating towards to help the cause.

A list of charities (albeit likely dated) can be viewed here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=758674.0

Make sure to get some form of receipt or proof of your donation as well so we can keep track of those who've taking the #steemshave challenge and completed it. It'll be interesting to see how much money we can donate to various charities around the planet. It's my hope that with this face shaving fundraiser and the donations it generates will not only help those in need but also help spread the word about Steemit to more people throughout the world.

Now Without Further Adieu - The First #steemshave

(Warning: This video gets pretty darn loud once I start up the clippers!)

69% of SBD reward earned split between 3 organizations I believe do good:

Orginization NameRegistered NumberLocationWebsite
Water Project26-1455510Concord NHhttp://thewaterproject.org
Khan Academy26-1544963Mountain View CAhttp://khanacademy.org
Erowid Center20-3256212Grass Valley CAhttp://erowid.org

I'll do a follow up post once this posts first payout period has finished and I've gotten the donations sent off to the above organizations on behalf of STEEM and the #steemshave campaign.

The Lucky Nominated for the Next #steemshave

@charlieshrem

@dollarvigilante

@fyrstikken

Get your shave on boys! Post a vid in the next day or so of your new #steemshave! If you would rather opt out of a shave I ask you donate at least $100 SBD to a charity of your choice as a show of support for your chosen organization but also the #steemshave pledge. I've seen the whole lot of you rolling around in suits worth 100x that. I know you can afford it. :) It's for a cause of your choosing and it helps raise awareness for STEEM by donating on behalf of all of us.


Please Vote @klye for Witness!

While Upvotes on this post are cool.. A witness vote is way better!
Voting for me to be witness is fast, easy and completed on the page linked below:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

It takes < 5 seconds to click the link above, scroll down to the bottom and upvote klye. <3

As of now I'm currently ranked around #41 on the list and now show up in the top 50!
You can vote for me easily by scrolling to the bottom of the page and upvoting klye:

Thank you for your votes and support!

Please ReSteem this by clicking the button below.

Sort:  

My favourite part of this video is where you use my pink razor... The same one I shave my pubes with. :D

Love you!

...

I'm just going to pretend I didn't shave my face with your ladyparts razor..

Love you too babe.

goes and washes face

I'm gonna let you know right now, my luscious man mane is staying firmly on my face! :P

Better get ready to cough up them Steem Backed Benjamins! :D

Edit: I've already nominated my 3.. So if those 3 nominate 3 eventually that lovely man jungle on your face might get challenged for the pledge!

Oops! Haha

I feel there should be a way for women to contribute too. Maybe a reverse haha let leg hair grow out for a week or something funny (I'm guessing that won't go over well). Maybe getting the steemit logo into the side of the hair (i'm not the originator of this idea) on those with hair that could be done. Both guys and girls would be a cool thing for charity and to talk about steemit and how people are using money to not only help themselves, but others :)

hahahaha. You sir are wild in your thoughts but I agree!

I had no intention of being sexist when I posted this by excluding the girls from #steemshave
I'd love for a female community member to start up the flip side of this! Know any women steemsters Ben?

Haha hmm I think the only ones we may get involved in this are those who wear pants quite often or are tree huggers :) but you could make a follow up post and see if any ladies have any suggestions. Could be some sort of makeup or lipstick that looks like steemit. I'm not well versed in makeup so I'd leave it up to the female steemsters to come up with something fun.

Maybe @stellabelle or @mrs.steemit may have an idea

@klye Great concept! Resteemed and followed you!

Thank you kindly. :D

Great initiative, upvoted.

Movember began in Australia. I had the pleasure of meeting one of the guys that started it all, he was working for ZenDesk at the time. It was 3 brothers as I recall, or 2 brothers and their Dad? It's been years so don't quote me.

Well done, hope it catches on.

Great idea, Klye! I enjoyed watching the video of you using your girlfriends razor, lol! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66843.30
ETH 3094.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67