How Steemit helped me start a new business!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Over the last 6 months since I joined Steemit, I have developed an appreciation for my fellow Steemers. (Steemians, Steemettes, Steemites... I have no idea what we are calling ourselves?) Especially those I have come to communicate with on the regular - and the mutual support and respect built along the way. I had no idea what to make of this all when I first joined. I actually thought it was a load of tosh... (sticking foot in mouth now). With a little guidance, patience and understanding, I found out it's quite a nice place to be. The rewards and benefits don't hurt either!

For the most part, I have been posting music related blogs - sharing my original music and covers, as well as entering the weekly OpenMic contest. I am so thankful for how I have been received on here and to know that there are like-minded people out there supporting what I'm trying to do. That said, the upvotes and rewards I have earned by posting about my passion are like the icing on the cake. I had no idea that Steem and SteemDollars were going to rise like they have. Obviously there has been, and will be, more ups and downs - but such is life. Even so, I have used part of my earnings to start up a new small business endeavor ;)

IMG_E9370.JPG

Mandala Moon Candle Co. has begun! Thanks to Steemit, I have been able to pay off the initial start-up costs of the business. It would have happened eventually, but may have taken a lot longer without Steemit. I am determined to always work for myself and use my creative abilities to the fullest. As of now, I have been running an independent hair business inside of an established salon. It's nice to have the flexibility to make my own schedule, set my own prices and maintain loyal clients on my own accord. Now.. I'm also a mom, a wife and a singersongwriter.. add candle maker to the list. I do what I can to make this all happen in harmony, but always feel like I could be doing something MORE... even though it sometimes drives me crazy ;)

Side checking the crazy.. I am taking my love for all things that smell good, plus my love for the planet and combining the two by making Eco-Friendly soy wax candles.

IMG_E9788.JPG

Each candle is hand poured, by yours truly. I use 100% natural soy wax, aromatic & essential oils, a natural cotton wick and leave them in their natural state, dye-free. This all means less chemicals going into the air and also no black residue left behind. Bonus! Soy wax also has a much longer burn time than other waxes, and is a completely renewable grown source.. if you care about that sorta thing. To complete them, they set in either a tin or glass jar... each recyclable or reusable.

IMG_E9789.JPG

IMG_9950.JPG

I don't have a business degree, or much experience in the wholesale department.. but I think I know what consumers, such as myself, look for in a product. I also genuinely enjoy what I'm doing and take pride in making a quality, hand crafted product. I believe customers can see that in the way you package, sell and deliver. Like everything else, I will learn as I go. Trial and Error. You have to fail to succeed. I think it's really important to remember that.

IMG_9364.JPG

As of now, I have been selling to family, friends and clients.. moving onto extended connections. I have also opened my Etsy shop, which allows people to shop online from home. Because who doesn't like to shop in their underwear...
As soon as I get my sales numbers up and am confident that my product "function and design" is up to par, I plan to move onto getting these gems into boutiques and markets. I already have a couple craft festivals lined up, looking forward to seeing what that's all about! One is a Ladies Night event, which I'm certain I will sell plenty... women love to shop. Another is a Hippie Fest.. which is all about the eco-friendly, handmade, bohemian crafts. Tree huggers unite!

IMG_9734.JPG

IMG_E9953.JPG

So THANK YOU Steemit and those who have followed, supported and upvoted any and all of my posts. Because of you, I am able to take another creative idea and turn it into action. I am still such a small blip on the radar here, but knowing what I have been able to churn into butter already.. it leaves me hopeful for future projects and ideas being supported by Steemit earnings. Much Love!

-Kate
Mandala Moon Candle Co.
IMG_9873.JPG

Sort:  

Good idea for business @kjablonski! How do you distribute your product? Can you distribute it in the other countries?

Thank you! As of now I am distributing to local buyers by hand delivery or shipping in the mail. I have not figured international shipping yet, as shipping costs are relatively high. But am open to it in the future

Ok I understand. Thanks for answer!

What a great-looking product line you've created. Congratulations! I love the logo, and the handmade feeling of your packaging, and the fact you use soy wax, and... Altogether awesome! I'm proud of you. Hope you're feeling the love, sister, and wishing you great luck with this.

Hey @caleblindsay Thank You! I appreciate the positive feedback, I’m excited for this and to see where it’ll go... ✌🏼

I really like the logo that you've chosen for your candles! I hope you have great success with them.

Thanks so much @amberyooper I drew that logo myself so it’s nice to see it on the product and getting good feedback 😊

I love the name....
Sounds indian! 😊👍
Great to see someone start up with the help of steemit!
Keep steeming!

🙃 thank you! It’s definitely got a little bohemian theme going.. and yes, Keep Steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83