Will Minds' New Token Help or Hurt Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-13 at 2.25.47 PM.jpg

I just finished reporting on the Minds Token launch for Heavy.com. And it got me wondering: How will this affect Steemit?

(You can read my story on Heavy.com here).

This may pretty much be the first real competitor to Steemit, am I right? Rewarding people in crypto tokens for their participation in a blockchain-based social network alternative. They are also including some tactics that they hope will crack down on attempts to game the system.

I can see this helping Steemit, in many ways. This will help get the word out more about crypto rewards for social networking and how Facebook, Twitter, etc. aren't the end-all-be-all to social networking. There really are alternatives.

It might also hurt, in that people can only spend so much time social networking a day. So if they see better results from Minds, they might spend less time on Steemit. (Of course, the opposite can happen too.)

I'm going to try it out and compare. (I'm on Minds here].) This is my first post in two months on Steemit. I want to be more involved, and I've honestly had some good results here as far as interacting with people, getting feedback, meeting people, and reading interesting comments. Minds has been welcoming too, with people I don't even know wiring me tips and encouraging me to continue.

So I'll definitely be continuing to try out both networks to see how the results are and how they compare.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your comments on if you think the Minds Token will help or hurt Steemit (or not affect it at all, if that's your opinion.)

Sort:  

hello, good article, I subscribed to your channel, hope you are signed by me, everyone who subscribed to me, I also signed

@kittenlaw, I'm waiting for the continuation of the topic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83