Recap: 8-Months of Thoughts and Lessons Learned on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm pretty free tonight so I'm kinda reflecting on stuff that's been happening on the platform. Free free to add:-

  1. Better to identify power users and support them, rather than giving too much votes for popular figures. For one, celeb-types wouldn't have time to make Steemit a point in what they're building online (and also, $$$). Secondly, bringing up a good, power user from the ground-up is a great way to build accounts that will stick and try their best to improve the platform. Steem comes from the word esteem. If supporting excellent but relatively unknown folks isn't building great self-esteem for the platform.. then I don't know what is.

  2. Through the rollercoaster ride that is Steemit, I've made plenty of friends, or people whom I like to call friends. It's hard to get honest folks around, and I'm also appreciative of those whom do not agree with me. Personally, I think Steemit's "problem" is also its transparency. What would investors think when they come on the platform looking at so much squabbling? Some may think it's a good thing, but most wouldn't consider investing at the moment. Personal feuds should be taken off-platform. Steemit remains as a shared, social space.

  3. The should be another wallet value estimation that shows the account size if Steem's price is X, Y, Z. Just to show people it may be a good idea to hold than sell right away. Most casual users wouldn't think about holding for anything - give them a reason to. Use the UI to remind everybody the possibility of cashing out later at a better price.

  4. Value is really subjective. Yes, it can be quantified in some ways, but remember that it's just based on preference. Beauty / Quality is relative to cultures - it has no bearing on the truth (or perfect quality). Today I saw someone commenting about why Curie has voted on some kid's colouring work. So.. what about 1-panel comics that are fetching good money? Sure, many people may relate more to comics made by adults, not some kid's colouring stuff. But for some, it's their whole world. They wouldn't likely post such a thing if it didn't mattered to themselves. But to relate, yes, I've also seen countless of posts which I have no idea why were rewarded so highly. However, I'm not in anyone's shoes and I'm actually observing that the free-market is at work - it's just that I have my disagreements.

  5. Definitely need more whales that do more and help initiatives out around the platform. I'm just a mini-whale (am I considered one?). Anyways, I intend to build myself towards whale status..

Sort:  

The Steemit engine must be content creation and regarding money, this is a long run (years). Let's hope this platform will get the needed traction in the future so we can all be amazed about our account, but until then it's up to us to keep it going. You also resteemed and article yesterday, from @nigelmarkdias, very on point about making money right now.

Yeah, now it's floating towards true market value, and it will be up to us to drive Steem's value from the low-point :)

It's true. Out of the currently ~600 posts or so a day and ~1000 daily users, only a few of us post A LOT and comment a lot and are very regular / constant / consistent daily users and we do not get much support.

Some of us work very hard on a lot of our content on here, and are not bloggers per se, or don't have a ton of online skills and many people as such leave, who invest a lot here, because there is not enough support.

  • and I am speaking of not only myself that has 6000 posts in a few months and that includes taking a full month off in Oct. -- but I have watched the comments and a lot of people come and gone as we all have.

Which is why I'll still stick to guilds as a solution for the beginnings of a network such as this. There definitely needs to be more guilds curating different stuff hmm.

i agree to what your said but its a matter of time too, for example if you work 8-10 hours + 1 hour before to wake up get dressed go to your job and another 1 to come back then you have left 12-14 hours. If lets say we need 8 more hours for sleep 4-6 hours left, then we got the food the bills the common stuff most of people have to etc etc so in daily basis it quite hard to be so active even if you want too so i can understand it in way
for example i went for a coffee and the whole proccess took ( come coffee go) took me 2 and half hours, when i got back and entered on steem i had 25 new posts from people i follow ( and i am new on steem), i tend to read and check everything even comment before i upvote so you get the time i need to do it
Just to be clear i have time right now cause i am a college student but in a couple of weeks i must start my thesis and my intership so i dont believe i would have much time for steemit( and i would love to have more time)

I dont want to judge you or anything and i really believe some people as you said that work hard must earn more and get what they deserve but i give you a different aspect that i believe you know already

Yes...you are mini whale...but valuable and rare kind of whale in steemit ocean. Just swim and give joy to other minnows and spread good spirit around steemit ocean. Nice !

Agreed in all points.
Happy that I have my 1 Cent vote again and I will work on my Orca-status and then mini-whale too, for sure ;-)
Even if the price will go much lower I belive in Steem and in Steemit.
Thank you for your really good work.

I missed my 50 cent votes back in july xD..

Thanks for dropping by brother :)

These times will come back ;-)
You are very welcome :-)

I like that term you used, power user :)

No power user's without their powergloves :D

"I'm pretty free tonight so I'm kinda reflecting on stuff that's been happening on the platform. Free free to add:-"

#6. The price of STEEM is a downer...(.10 - .11 cents) Lets get that out of the way. I don't think anyone can say that STEEM or Steemit is FINISHED. If the weak hands fold and leave, so be it! A new and improved Whale, Dolphin, and Minnow will gladly buy them out while the price is low. So I don't look at it as being a BAD thing. More of GOOD thing. Eventually while we stay positive and stay strong which will allow the price to rise again, THEY WILL BE BACK!!!

Frank

i like the reflection, will also do one soon when i completed my second real steemit month! Thanks for being a guide @kevinwong

Link me up when that's up. Always nice to read what others think bout it :)

I certainly will do so!

I'm happy to vote on childrens colouring pages- I'm a little disappointed that I missed that post.

Ah I found the post. I like seeing childrens original drawings and art work, but I can understand other people's viewpoint on this too.

Yup :) it's very understandable lol

I think I would consider you a mini-whale! I agree with a lot of your perspective and I hope that the community will come together and work towards a common goal!

Thanks @dzboston33 there's indeed a need for some vision on the platform atm, imo

Thanks for sharing your thoughts here, Kevin. So much has happened in just 8 months. I'm optimistic about the next 8. I agree that the wallet UI needs to be more steem friendly. It would be very interesting to see some sort of value scale be a part of that, or maybe a graph showing your own steem power growth over time. A little bit of positive analytics here could go a long way in terms of encouraging users to hold on a bit longer! Cheers to your mini-whale status!

Yup, although I think the daily rewards aren't as massive as the whale dumping going on at the moment. I guess that's just the way its gotta be for a distribution phase. Although I kinda worry that with such price movements, pretty bad for rep as a coin..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87