You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Enhancement Proposal - Extend The Voting Period Over 30 Days By Implementing A "Hosting" Fee

in #steemit8 years ago

Interesting. I like the idea of people posting for free, but paying to extend it sounds cool.

My understanding that it's limited to 30 days is because the way the graph database behind the scenes stores all the active posts in ram. So they limited it for technical reasons.

Sort:  

Not necessarily. Voting will not influence the post itself. Technically it can be done, or that's what I understood.

"Voting will not influence the post itself"? I thought the whole point of Steem Power and voting was what made posts be worth somthing? Now I'm confused lol.

It's from a technical point of view. Voting will not modify the post, like editing it will do. Voting will just allocate a portion of the daily reward pool to the post author.

Oh I see what you mean. Modifying the actual post itself. Yeah I don't understand why everything is stored in ram for active posts and their votes. I used databases such as MySQL, SQLite and MongoDB before and they seem to utilize disk. Memory usually for indexes and temp things.

I know I was talking to someone about this on dev channel on Steemit Chat a few months ago. Whoever answered said it's because of the graph database. I was wanting to know why they said witnesses required ram would double at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42