You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: project: bullfrog-system | Mine STEEM with ease

in #steemit8 years ago

This is very cool!

I'm all set up but not mining.

I edited the 2 ini files as instructed. I am synch'ed to the latest block.

I tried to do sudo ~/bin/config-steemd.bash miner, which I assume will put me in miner mode, but it is asking for the frog password and I have no idea what to enter. I tried the password I created to get into the ssh via putty, but that did not work. So I am out of ideas! Any thoughts on how I can move forward?

Sort:  

My apologies. At the end of the install script, it gives at list of things you need to do, but I didn't include one of them in the docs and of course now I can't edit.

=== Installation complete. Starting replay. Once complete:
* CTL-C to kill steemd.
* sudo passwd frog
* Configure files in /var/local/steemd/configs.
* sudo /home/frog/bin/frog/config-steemd.bash
* sudo service steemd start

User 'frog' is created without a passwd to begin with. The first thing you need to do after installation is set the password so you can use sudo with that account.

Thanks for your help!

I have now created a password for frog, after doing ctl-c, using sudo passwd frog
Then I changed to the frog user, using sudo su frog
I went to the directory with config-steemd.bash, using cd ~/bin
I did ls, and I see the file config-steemd.bash in green. If I run it, it says "command not found" both with and without sudo as a prefix. config.ini is in red and the other 3 are in green, when I do ls.

frog@xxx:~/bin$ ls
config.ini config-steemd.bash recompile-steem.bash replay-steemd.bash
frog@xxx:~/bin$ sudo config-steemd.bash miner
sudo: config-steemd.bash: command not found
frog@xxx:~/bin$ config-steemd.bash miner
config-steemd.bash: command not found

Not sure how to proceed. Seems strange to get "command not found" when it is obviously there, but then again, it may be something obvious as I am very rusty at linux!

Thanks for any light you may be able to shine on this!

Similar to Windows, in 'Nix, if a command is not in your $PATH (run "echo $PATH" to see), it will not "find" it. You have to specify a command's path manually if that's the case.

I didn't set up '/home/frog/bin' as a default path as a security precaution for now. You have to include the full path when calling the command:

sudo /home/frog/bin/config-steemd.bash miner Or use ~/, which represents $HOME (/home/frog):
sudo ~/bin/config-steemd.bash miner
Or even:
sudo $HOME/config-steemd.bash miner

Thanks again for your help! I am making some progress I think! This is what happened this time:

frog@xxx:/home/xxx$ /home/frog/bin/config-steemd.bash miner
realpath: /var/local/steemd/configs/config.miner.ini: Permission denied
/home/frog/bin/config-steemd.bash: line 14: cd: /var/local/steemd/witness_node_data_dir: Permission denied
ln: failed to create symbolic link 'config.ini': Permission denied
chown: cannot access 'config.ini': No such file or directory

realpath: /var/local/steemd/configs/config.miner.ini: Permission denied

You have to use sudo (Super User Do) on that one. That script is trying to alter a system file so it needs administrator privileges when running, thus the "Permission denied".

sudo /home/frog/bin/config-steemd.bash miner

You're getting there! Keep hacking at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87