You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What made me stay on Steemit? My #1 reason for loving the platform & favourite short-term Steemit rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

Awesome post @amritadeva. Thank you for the mention, I work hard on writing these blog posts haha.

When I first joined Steemit, this platform was more shady than it is nowadays IMO. I remember posting my blogs and videos and seemed to only get upvotes and comments from bots. That still goes on, but I am happy that I was finally able to meet real, genuine people (such as yourself) on this site that I can actually interact with.

You are right in terms of finding certain people to follow. I don't really see it as a bad thing, you are just trying to filter out all the content on this site until you feel comfortable. I am the same way. I follow about 30 people now but I am interested in their content for different reasons.

If I didn't see potential in what this blockchain could become, I never would've invested a chunk of my money (fiat and crypto) into steem power. I do believe this is the future if some issues can be ironed out. I like the Steem blockchain because I can access it without a VPN in China. China is constantly cracking down on VPNs and so now they don't work as well as they used to and it is just an annoyance to always need one and having it randomly disconnect in the middle of a download or watching a YouTube video.

It seems to me that Steemit is the future of blogging. Using wordpress to start a blog is really difficult if you want to attract any following. People don't really have an incentive to follow you, comment or visit your site on a continuous basis unless they LOVE you. At the same time, bloggers get discouraged because it is difficult to make a living off of it from ad revenue.

Steemit is going to bring bloggers together and give consumers an easy place to read whatever they want, while they can comment and earn money. I think that's awesome.

Personally speaking, this platform has allowed me to better detect people that just want attention. I am able to better decipher who is writing a comment just for an upvote and who is just commenting because they actually care about the content and want to contribute.

Anyways, this is a super long comment lol. I did read your whole blog though and wanted to answer as many points as I could.

Congratulations on 500+ followers. You joined this site later than I did but are killing me in the number of followers department hahah.

Sort:  

Wow! Thanks so much for your elaborate reply! That's exactly what I mean - it's this kind of interaction that makes Steemit worthwhile for me.

Thanks for sharing your perspective on the platform. I'm real happy the shadiness has diminished ;). And well sometimes I come across all these accusations and opinions which still add a bit of a dark side to Steemit. But it's great that this place is giving bloggers such a fresh kind of opportunity. It's actually helpful the way you put it. Makes me believe more in the future of the platform too!

Yeah. There are definitely some issues that haven't been resolved, but I have faith in this platform. The way it works is actually quite ingenious and is something that many people would like to see become successful.

There are many projects our there in crypto that don't deal with the problems Steemit has. The reason is because most of them don't even have a product or service yet. At least with Steem, there is a functional blockchain and we are dealing with the early issues and growing pains. This is something all the other (usually overvalued) blockchains will have to deal with in the future when they finally release something. Steem already scales and functions better than Bitcoin.

Btw, I'd really like to know more about your time in India with Paramahamsa Nithyananda. I sent you a friend request on Discord. I hope we can chat over there =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49