Posting Content That Isn't Yours? Is This Allowed?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am a new Steemit user so I apologize if this question has been answered already. Is posting other peoples' content allowed on Steemit?

If I post a video from PewDiePie on here and get upvoted, I am basically earning money off of someone else's content. Couldn't this be an issue?

I think the idea of earning money for posting content is a great idea. It allows anybody to create an income stream and they don't need to be famous or anything. I think it is great that people can do that but I am not sure how you can enforce a law where people can only post content they created.

Would love to have an answer as to the current status. If it is OK to do, are there are rules in the future that will change this? I'm not sure how this can be enforced either.

Sort:  

@kenanqhd this is a super timely post for me as I was recently questioning the same thing. I'm curious to see the communities take on this.

I really dpon't know how people feel about this. Reddit for example has a lot of unique content but at the same time it's a lot of "checkout this cool shit I just found on the internet" type of posts.

Here's my personal take on it. I don't see anything wrong with using others content maybe in the context of your post like total random example but maybe I write a post about "hitting the reset button on life" and maybe the post is about how I'm feeling like I want to really shake things up and do something different with my life. Maybe I share 3 Youtube videos of other people who have done something similar and embed their videos so I've in some way added something to the discussion.

As far as me just posting someone else's music video or documentary or video and nothing to go along with it just seems a little lazy to me, at the very least post some context of why your sharing it and why you enjoy it. Otherwise like you said someone can basically just reupload every video of say urban climbers on Youtube and basically get paid off their efforts essentially.

Really curious to hear what others think about this topic, yesterday I was just about to make a post asking this very same question

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45