How I Became A Big Liverpool Fan

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Liverpool.png

I’m not sure how and when I came to know about Liverpool Football Club, but what I can remember is back in the 90’s the likes of Ian Rush, Stan Collymore, Robbie Fowler, Michael Owen, and all other great LFC players were around. Back then, there was no High Definition TV just normal screening on a bulky TV with ‘fishbone’ antenna. I guess back in the 80’s, the club was winning major trophies day in day out and the popularity grew with their success.

1994-1995.jpg.jpg
1994-1995 Team

Then came the moment of magic I will never forget. The greatest comeback in Champions League history. I was then sleeping over at @danieldoughty home when the final match between Liverpool FC and AC Milan back in 2005 went LIVE. I was alone in the living room (others are sleeping as it was at 3am).
images.jpg

AC Milan was leading 3-0 at first half and hopes were dashed, feeling of a comeback was really tiny. Felt like going to bed early and save myself from further misery and watching AC Milan lift the trophy. But No, in my mind as a true Liverpool fan “You Never Walk Alone”, Win or Loose we will be there with the team. So I stayed on, till the minute when Steven Gerard scored the first goal, then Smicer scored and finally a penalty converted by Alonso. I was jumping for joy quietly in the living room alone like a lunatic as everyone was asleep. Smilling by myself and no one to smile at…I felt like going to be in the hospital soon…lol.

selebrasi-050525-449-liverpool_milan.jpg

What a story that was.

Then, there was stars in the club like Fernando Torres, than came Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge, and many more great stars but we are still waiting for our first Premier League Trophy. We were so close in 2008/2009 season where Steve G slipped and the trophy slipped along with him…he was really devastated by that.

Fernando+Torres+Inter+Milan+v+Liverpool+UEFA+II50yWro5o_l.jpg

thumb_31596_default_news_size_5.jpeg

So now our hope lies on Jurgen Klopp to bring Liverpool FC to glory. Hope for the best…in Klopp we trust!

YNWA

“STEEMIT…Lets Do This” – Keith @keithmontallana

Sort:  

It was in 16th May 2001. Me and my friends were spending our holiday in Portugal while waiting for our conferring on the 25th May 2001.

UEFA Cup Final between Liverpool and Alaves of Spain.
We were in a pub and the match were very tense. Liverpool won 5-4. We were supporting Liverpool but we cannot shout and celebrate because it was relatively quiet inside the pub. We were quiet as well. The locals were probably Alaves supporters

Then Liverpool won again in Super Cup against Bayern with 3-2 scores.
That was the best moment for me as Liverpool fan.😁

Wow...amazing kan that night...YNWA

YNWA i wish i joined early and encounter your post early too so i can upvote. It is good to have fellow steemian to support the same club.

Hopefully we getting there for the title and other competitions too.

As a fan, let us continue our support.

I am liverpool fan since 2004...YNWA.cheers. O no, say Good bye to PC ,146M deal to barca.huhu.

Yalah...itulah..but we still have lotz of stars like mo salah, mane, and latest one VVD..trus goal on debut and derby. YNWA

I don't quite remember when I started to support Liverpool too, maybe since I was really young. My dad is a fan, so as the oldest child and eldest son, I followed and got acquainted with his love for Liverpool. Funny enough, my other 4 brothers are MU and Chelsea supporter.

That's true...i believe i got my passion from my dad as well. Tell me about it...i have a Chelsea and an Arsenal fan in the family. Luckily no MU fan....lol

LOL, its really hard watching a Liverpool match when they are around. They will always cheer for whatever opposing teams Liverpool are against. I prefer watching it alone or with my fellow kopites.

agree...but its always nice to rub their wounds when their team lost...lol

Nice to see a fellow Liverpool fan's story. I will also never forget that night in 2005, it was such a rollercoaster!

I have never experienced them winning a league title but I hope I will someday.

Yes...it was a great night indeed...goosebumps all night long.

They will, Keep the faith and in Klopp we trust 💪😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57455.52
ETH 2339.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35