What does Steemit mean to my generation?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)



What am I doing here?

This has been a question I have asked myself numerous times since I joined. Considering the various cyberattacks on this site and the events of compromised accounts, I began questioning the safety and legitimacy of steemit. The security of this site was just one small aspect I have been pondering. I also pondered about the future of steemit, what opportunities can it bring to young people, how will it change politics/society or life as we know it, etc....


 But before I get into too much of those details, I think I should start from the beginning...


The Beginning... 1 week ago

I'll be quite honest and frank when I say that I had not the slightest idea what to expect from this site. It seemed like a simple blogging website at first glance so I gave it a try and learned as I went. I am by no means a professional or experienced blogger but I am a social media enthusiast and a curious free spirit. 

So here I was on this site... lurking for about 10 mins then I dove straight in. I tried to familiarise myself with the site: I wrote a few blogs, expressed my creativity, posted things that I found interesting/amusing; just like what I do on any other social media platform.  I came to realize that the steemit community/platform is entirely different from any other social media I have ever used. 

Different how?? 

I'm still trying to specify exactly how it is different but I feel like no words can quantify how truly revolutionising it is. I know I am far from entirely grasping the potential and vision for this site, but I can remark about how steemit has altered the way I look at cryptocurrencies and society in general. This may even sound cheesy, but it has made me grow as a person as well. This is how tremendous the impact was.


Society as it is right now:

I can attest that whilst growing up, I felt immense pressure to somehow fit into society and conform to someone's imaginary rules in terms of..... everything: beliefs, behaviour, attitude and even dreams. I always felt and still feel like I don't belong anywhere. Like I'm some sort of puzzle piece that accidentally fell into the wrong puzzle box and I am trying really hard to fit in but my attempts are futile. Society keeps trying to sell me this "white picket fence" dream; that I need to get a 9-5 job, get married and have kids. It seems to dictate that these are the checklists for success and if you don't subscribe to this idea, you are a failure.

                                                     

From a young age I knew life was askew...messed up and unfair, but I tried to remain optimistic and figure out a way to find some sort of cheat codes in this game of life. I dreamed big and wanted to be as happy as possible in  this lifetime. I did not want to compromise my dreams and aspirations for anything. 


Then I realized saying it is easier than actually doing it...


I was aware that there would be obstacles, but I never knew what they would be specifically. (until I eventually encountered them). 


I absolutely hated the worthless feeling I got when I sent out hundreds of resumes and got no reply; knowing full well that I have worked hard to become qualified but I lacked "links" or "connections". When I did procure a job as a head accountant, I hated it too.. Accounting really did not suit me. The mundane tasks bored me to bits and although the money was good, it did not seem worth it to me. I had no interest in climbing the corporate ladder and the cutting methods people often used to advance in such a structure disgusted me.  The betrayal and manipulative methods one of my coworkers employed to get me fired (so she could get my position ) evinced the desperate and cruel things people do to advance or "climb the corporate ladder". The frightening uncertainty of whether I will get a job after I graduate from college haunts me as well. (The crippling economy does not help much to soothe my worries either). I worry alot about the future and if my efforts would ever pay off. Would I ever see the light at the end of this tunnel? Or am I actually in a blackhole, hopelessly holding onto  a false image of hope?


Basically my thoughts were "I'm screwed".


In light of these events, I wondered why did I even bother? Is it all futile? 

Why am I chasing a job I hate? 

Why am I still doing the job I hate? 

What was my education  for? 

WHY did  I get into accounting ?? :/

I soon came to realize that I was subconsciously doing these things with false hopes that it would lead to success and in this process, I felt like I lost a big chunk of myself...

I used to write quite often as a child and I wanted to become an author. I was also passionate about theatre, literature, dance, poetry and acting (basically any creative art). My parents, teachers and friends ridiculed me and told me that authors/artists make no money. Under these assumption, I chose to focus on a more lucrative career path and abandoned one of my oldest passions.


These are just some of the obstacles young people face nowadays. The struggle to survive this rat race really sucks... 


I have witnessed first hand some of my friends just "settling" with the ideas that society has so ingrained in us. Some felt the pressure to get married young and start a family (an issue lots of women face due to our biological clocks) and some are stuck in lame dead end jobs. Others are pursuing a lucrative career due to the pressure their families and society place on them but at the expense of their happiness. It seemed as though no one was winning. I definitely was not winning...


Many youths turn to social media as a way to distract themselves from the frustrations of life. Some even develop personas or create facades. I know I am guilty of this. I often used social media as a stress reliever by sharing or viewing entertaining posts, I momentarily forgot about my issues in life. I often posted "exaggerated" positive things in my life on social media because the delusion of it was comforting. That was the motto I was living by~~Fake it Till You Make it. But I was not making it...

 Looking in the mirror was hard, it was hard to analyze my reflection, flaws and all. It was hard to accept them, far less embrace them. I did not like where I was going in life. I hated that I was taking the old beaten usual road and not being true to myself. Simulatenously, I was scared to take the road less travelled by and pursue my passion. 



How Steemit changes things:

Steemit is more than just a social media site where users can get paid for their contributions, it is a huge step in the right direction where people can reclaim their lives and no longer have to be a slave to the present day system. People can do what they love ( in this case: write, blog, vlog, etc..) and benefit from it. Opportunities are created for those who need it most and so many lives are changed. This is definitely a technological revolution.  It will not only change politics, economics and society but most importantly, it will change the mindsets of people. 

Steemit has allowed me to reflect more on life and become truer to myself. It has allowed me to rediscover my old love for writing and it has taught me that the best way to live life is to live it uninhibitedly. I may not have reaped large monetarily sums from this site yet, but the psychological, mental and emotional awakening is priceless. 

Steemit is also unique because it has allowed numerous people to connect with each other in profound ways. The transparency and authenticity of many members reflect in their stories that they tell and many people can relate to them. I found many posts to be inspiring and beautiful and I think that this is a great platform for people to inspire, inform and educate each other. Steemit is a social media site that has truly connected people in a world where social media often disconnects us all. 



Sincerely,

No longer a cog in the system.



#steemit

#life

#writing

Sort:  

Great text, i wish as many up votes as possible for you :)

Thank you :D

Great points! I agree, its good to have a way to bring people together. I have already made friends on steemit. Look at me go hahaha

That's awesome! Great to see the steemit community getting to know each other better :)

Joey Approves

This is an excellent post which should receive more attention.

It triggered me to think about Machiavellianism in the workplace and the dark triad .

Steemit is more than just a social media site where users can get paid for their contributions, it is a huge step in the right direction where people can reclaim their lives and no longer have to be a slave to the present day system.

The founders of Steemit @dan and @ned are really big on this. Dan in particular promotes life, liberty and property. Steemit must have security to protect property (your account ownership rights).

At the same time a side effect of Steem is to promote liberty, whether it be free speech or in some other form. Recently for example a controversial figure Milo Yiannopoulos was banned from Twitter. His voice has been silenced without strong evidence or explanation and this censorship would not happen on Steem.

While Steemit could censor a controversial poster the Steem platform itself could have a darknet version where any voice could be heard. The Steem technology is bigger than Steemit. Protecting life is also possible with Steem but this is indirect, as we do not yet know what Steem will evolve into. If can protect liberty and property then at the minimum it can provide a tool people can use to protect their own lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48