What is Steemit all about and what did it teach me?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello folks. I'm here to share with you a very important lesson that i've learned and I would like all of you to understand this well...





What is Steemit?

Steemit is a social-network. Just like Reddit. Steemit pays users for posting quality content and also pays people who upvote quality content(curation).. I will not go into details on how can you make money out of nothing as you can easily read everything on Google, plus this isn't my point here.

As I've mentioned above, Steemit is about Quality Content..

My story..

I'm a minnow, like most of us here. I'm trying to make something out of Steemit. So i thought why not make giveaways and lottery to help out people and give myself a boost along the way. According to me, there wasn't anything wrong in it as I was helping minnows and myself.. But here is where I was wrong.

As Steemit pays you for being upvoted for your good post, they are promoting good articles and informations. They are making a platform where you get access to good articles based on their post upvotes/value.. You'll be interested to read an article having a huge number of upvotes/payout rather than reading a post with few to no upvotes..

What I was doing was encouraging people to upvote my giveaways and lotteries to get something in return. This is completely against the purpose of Steemit. I'm only realizing this now as I've got a downvote on my previous post causing it to lose all of its value. I was angry at first but talking to different people made me realize a lot(You know who you guys are). I thank them all for explaining me all of this which I'm sharing with you now.

We all want free bucks. But it's not okay to earn without any effort. You can't just upvote people and hope to make money out of it. NO! I've come to a turning point and I want to make this clear to everyone that if you want money, earn it the right way. You want attention on Steemit? EARN IT! Do not beg for upvotes.

One more thing about your upvotes, whether it makes an impact or not, only give them to posts that are good. Help this community grow. Be the change. Encourage people to make this platform a successful one. One sure thing is that if your post is good, it'll definitely get the required attention.

Be creative. Be unique. Be someone.. Will it be easy? NO!... Will it be worth it? DEFINITELY!


Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. —Albert Einstein



#UpvoteForUpvote #TrevonJB #CraigRant

♡ Follow - Upvote - Comment ♡

Sort:  

Thanks for saying this. It gets on my nerves when people go around begging for upvotes without earning them. If you produce quality content, you’ll get the upvotes. There’s a difference between asking for an upvote or reminding people to upvote, and just begging for an un-earned upvote. So again thanks for your contribution to promoting quality content on Steemit.

I guess the saying goes by. Respect is earned...
Thank you for taking the time to read my article..

Yes! I predict that the quality will keep going up as good writers, researchers, artists, etc find their way here. I imagine there will always be gamers and it will be interesting to see how it all works out.

Users pay other users by upvote. They can upvote for any reasons

When you say users pay other users, you are wrong.
You do not pay anyone from your balance.
It's only generated based on your steem power.
You get paid based on the quality of your content.
Sure it's your upvote and you can upvote for any reason but that is not the purpose of Steemit...
I hope you are getting my point here..

Some users pay directly from their wallet to others. But you're right, most do not. Users decide who deserves to earn.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kayyam09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57