Let's Promote Steemit! By Ranking On Google!

in #steemit8 years ago

Sure some of us aren't buying a billboard anytime soon, But there are things you can do to promote Steemit!

RANK ON GOOGLE!

Why should we care about ranks?

Because that will start bringing traffic to Steemit! Based on my research and promoting my books, It's hard to successfully promote stuff in physical means these days, Our brains have trained us to completely ignore most advertising. So billboards, Ads, Commercials, Pamphlets, And all the other advertising you see often doesn't do as well these days.

One great way to promote Steemit is by writing quality content.

Example: A student is looking for information about rocks, for their report. They stumble across your Steemit article on Google; It helps them! They also notice this weird website That offers to pay them to write stuff. This article helped them; They may see the upvote button, and want to throw you something for your hard work. So they join the site, Upvote and possible follow you, They then start to write more content.

This will keep happening over and over, And in reality, you aren't doing anything NEW! you are just writing your regular articles here on the platform. It doesn't require you to spend any money, just follow some simple tips.

Google is extremely hard to rank these days, So many blogs are out there that ultimately fail. With Steemit you can have your blog on here, and it's almost like you are on a "team" with everyone else. If someone else's blog ranks, yours in a way, Does too. That Is why sites like Medium do so well.

Why should we advertise?

We all should do our share of spreading the word on Steemit. Sharing your posts on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and everywhere else, Will help Steemit gather "steem" Pun intended.

I feel like most of us are already doing this!
I read somewhere, That a person needs to see something 20 times before "buying it" . So to get these people to join, Maybe we need to let them see "Steemit" 20 times, In a non-threatening way so they'll join. Maybe they need to read and click on 20 Steemit articles in order to finally sign up.

Of course these aren't exact and perfect numbers.

I somewhat feel like people on Facebook may not click on our articles because they come off as "Give me your upvote" where as someone who doesn't know anything about Steemit will click on your article for the overall VALUE.
You are helping them answer their question.

Lets Get ranking!

Longer Posts

Google doesn't like short posts; Now you don't need to write a 200,000-word novel. But aim for at least 400 words. Try to adequately talk about the subject matter, and answer some question in your post.

Focus on SEO

SEO = Search Engine Optimization!

No you don't need a subscription to Merchant words or another SEO software. But think about your subject, Try to add a variety of keywords NATURALLY throughout your article! DO NOT add stuff to the bottom like
Keyword, spam, keywords here, blah blah, Rank by Google, come here Google, Show me off google,
Google doesn't like that. Maybe a couple words won't hurt. But try to use a variation of words. Like in your dog post you may write,

Whether you like Cocker Spaniels, Labs, Poodles, or Huskies, dogs can be a great pet and an excellent addition to your family.
When you have a doggie as a pet. Your life will be greatly improved. Think about whether you should adopt from a shelter, Or get a puppy from a breeder.

Notice that I used some popular dog breeds, and I SPECIFICALLY named them, Then I used dog, doggie, and puppy. All things to describe a DOG! Adding quite a few unique keywords.

Try doing this in your article so you can rank on Google potentially increasing your followers and adding value on Steemit.

Get Backlinks!

Backlinks tell Google; "Hey Steemit is awesome, People like it. "
Backlinks are when other websites are linking to Steemit or another site.
This is one reason why it could take a while for steemit to grow in popularity. Steemit's backlinks will improve and more and more will hear about it! Sure, We all want that viral thing. We wake up, and Steemit is the most popular site out there, But it may not happen that way!

WE have to get BACK LINKS the RIGHT WAY! There are a lot of black hat methods, But we should avoid those. We want HONEST backlinks.

  • Guest blog and give your Steemit link, Instead of a website.
  • Get people to share your posts, So write stuff that people LOVE, so they share.
  • Share your stuff & other peoples on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest. ( I see @kenny-crane Doing this a TON! )
  • Make your infographics, With your Steemit link on them so that people can share! I recently made one for my future posts.I won't show you yet! You can use canvas with this! ITS FREE! Plus your posts will be of higher quality, and you'll get the upvotes!

Online Advertising!

You don't' have to do this one, Because this is where it starts to cost you money.
I may experiment with this!
But you can use your articles and promote them on Facebook, Google and bing ads! Giving your article more exposure! It will be "sponsored" and people will read it! You may get a ton of people to join the site! I'm going to do this with one of my art posts later on, I'll promote it from my facebook art page!

T- Shirt Advertising

You could also buy a Steemit shirt too! These shirts are sold on Amazon, I posted it. And I'm only making 0.01 profit per shirt (Amazon forces me to make the 0.01) They are 10.96 there are 5 colors, and they come in womans and mens sizing.

Check them out!

Thank you Pixabay and for the photos!

Sort:  

I agree.

I think a big focus on Back Links would be the best, cheapest way.

I hear we 100k users (half probably quit / in active) but that 50k people who are on often could easily link their posts in any of the thousands of websites out there.

I often twitter link and fb link like many others.

I also have a website I kinda left in the cold since I joined steemit. I have one link there going to Steemit. I should probably put more steemit links up on it.

(edit up date)
If everyone who reads this post clicks the link here. Then clicks the steemit link from that page, google will detect the influx eventually. It will be like a drop in the ocean but it counts.
http://www.solarthings.ca/steem-power

Well, we only have about 8000 accounts which made any single action ever, it makes less then 10%
https://steemit.com/golos/@litvintech/snapshot-of-steem-blockchain-for-golos-genesis-is-done
So, considering that, Google is already ranking posts on Steemit amasingly high.

So true! I have a cold website too, I want to somehow put my posts on there, Or partially on there, Then link them to Steemit.

You cans see what I did to that. It's all my original content but i figured a way to post here and there in my later articles. ^^ though i almost never go there anymore. lol

LOL I Have the same problem. I wish we could copy and paste on both sites. But of course that would make Steemit and our website loook bad. I just wish there was a way to update both continuously.

You can also link to other steemit posts in your steemit article this way if it gets picked up by google there are other posts that could also get some traffic.

This is a great idea!

Ove the years I've talked to a ton of cool people over the internet, and one of the things that I am doing, if I have something relevant to say, I email them about it. Once the conversation is going, I mention Steemit. While the results are varied, I do have a really cool success now!
Folks from Joy of Tech who I've met somewhere in 2001, by stumbling upon their After Year 2K webcomic, and who had those really nice forums, that Steemit really reminds me of.
Well, I've had a success, in that they've joined Steemit as @joyoftech. They are yet to post an #introduceyourself, but I urge people to follow them, they are really cool geeks. :-D
Also once they backlink from their blog, we'll have more of those for Google. On top of the ones that I've left on their forums, when talking about Steemit.

You are right. Upvoted and resteemed

All over it! ; )

I often send some of my posts to twitter, rarely FB, but I'm also posting some of my art on Instagram with the Steemit hashtag. So many people are new to blogging so they don't have a clue how to even begin figuring out SEO, but if they want to get more exposure, then even small steps like a decent title, a good first paragraph and proper headers is a good place to start!

Just get her to promote it lol

Great ideas as always kaylinart!
Agree with backlinking especially since maybe steemit users cross link with each other and extending out link web to more of the internet makes sense.

You are most welcome! :)

Totally agree with this. I will try for more links in my posts!

I fully agree with you, although I think everyone already does have to increase the diffusion, thank you very much congratulations

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76