PHASES AFTER JOINING STEEMIT.

in #steemit8 years ago

Light heartedness please don't take it personal. These are based on my own journey but some of you might relate.

PHASE ONE
heard the word Steemit... Had no idea what it meant. Kinda intrigued by the idea but thought it must be bullshit cause what kind of awesomeness would it be otherwise.
Heard the word Cryptocurrencey ... "what the fuck is a cryptocurrencey" I thought to myself

PHASE TWO Research..
Research research research.

PHASE THREE
Sweet, I thought. All I have to do is write shit and make money. TADAH

PHASE FOUR
Realization... the "holy shit, I'm boring realization" I have nothing to write- I have a billion things going around my head all day, I write entire songs, but I can't think of something interesting enough for an upvote. I have good boobs but I don't really wanna share em on a blockchain.
Thats okay I thought.
As I started to realize what this could mean. For entire world in the way we move forward, i felt a bit better.

PHASE FIVE
Knowledge.. Learning something new. Like what a blockchain is, what cryptocurrency is. I thank all of the knowledgeable humans on this platform for sharing knowledge and binding the community together.

PHASE SIX
Giving back - no I'm not a Whale, I don't hold much value. But before I leave a community I've been a part of for the last 3 years I'd really love to make a positive difference & impact. There are over 5000 members in the New Zealand Playcentre Association and over 400 centres. If you're unsure what Playcentre is we are a not for profit charity that provides quality early childhood learning - COMPLETELY run by the parents, VOLUNTARILY.

PHASE SEVEN
HOW - How on earth am I going to convince 5000 people to join steemit so that we can all upvote each Centres fundraising plans (Can you imagine 5000 upvotes)?. This is my goal. I know I'm going to need some back up and a really good speech to take forward in the hopes of changing the way we fundraize forever. No more applying for grants and getting turned down. No more pushing sh*t uphill.

Current phase - My authentication pic which I have not shared yet.

Sort:  

I made a fairly large post as an introduction, mostly because I've never done before and I felt Steemit was an excellent way to put my story out there. I didn't receive a whole lot of upvotes, but I was still pleased with the awesome welcoming money reception, and I plan to continue my tales in the very near future. Regardless, welcome, and have an upvote! Best of luck to you and your organization.

Thanks heaps man all the best to you too

good luck with your plans for the charities, i hope you can make it happen :)

Good luck!! Great plans :)

Thanks man :)

I have just quoted you in a discussion I am having with one of the main whales on Steemit.

I'd welcome any feedback/thoughts you want to add if any. You are an important person for me to study, because apparently you come from entirely outside of the cryptonerd demographic.

Awesome. Hope it helps in some way :)

I am thinking we need some greater incentive you can use to entice people to join Steemit. Perhaps $50 for joining or something like that. Do you think that might motivate some of your 500 to join?

P.S. you resemble a bit (at least your pic here) my mom when she was young. This pic is when she was already older but she really looked similar to you at young age and similar hairstyle:

Wow yeah I guess there is a resemblance there. And yes that'd be a great incentive. Steemit is such an amazing revolution.. that can easily come off as a scam to those that aren't familiar with it. And people have every right to be skeptical . But with nothing to lose (I think & hope) and so much awesomeness I think I'm just going to have to come up with a really good presentation.

@anonymint - I would say the payment for content and the potential it has to completely change certain things for the better. I mean maybe I am getting a little ahead of myself with this whole steemit thing. Could I just be gullible? maybe. You seem like a pretty intelligent person, more so than I. So this is just what I have gathered and "assumed" about Steemit so far.

You seem like a pretty intelligent person, more so than I

I am focused in my area of technology so it may amplify the sense of my knowledge being greater, but on other aspects you may have insight that I don't have. I don't think any one person is omniscient. I agree with you that with blockchains we have the potential to change the world for the better. We have to be careful with idealism as we can fool ourselves. Yet I am deep in the technology and I will tell you our ideals may be possible. Please stay with us and help us spread it mainstream. We need to make sure people won't associate cryptocurrency and blockchains with scams, which is why it is so important that we get the details correct. Many of us are working on that. The insights you shared are very helpful. Please don't hold back your sharing thinking that you are not relevant. Thanks again.

Steemit is such an amazing revolution

I wish I could know what is in your conscious and unconscious mind that drives you to think it is a revolution. For example, it is the payment for producing content, is it that no one owns our data (it is all on open blockchain), is it connecting with the human side of blockchain tech, etc?

I am thinking ideologically at the most generalized generative essence of what is inspiring us is that we are driven by the concept of a better result for humanity via cooperation. The monetary rewards because the money system is owned by no one so the debasement goes to the rewards instead of to the central bankers, no one owns the data on the blockchain so anyone can built a user interface on top of it, open source, degrees-of-freedom, ... on the march to what social networking should be. Unfortunately please do note that Steem was sneaky mined ("pre"-mined) about 80 - 90% for a few whales who are profiting on all of us. Some 40% of that (money supply) is controlled by Steemit Inc. and is earmarked for give away to free signups. But there are potential issues that the 40% might end up abandoned if the signup attrition rate continues at 85% at it appears to be from the steemd.com distribution data. And that still doesn't move the effect of the unfair initial distribution. Power-law distributions form in any economic system, but having 80 - 90% initially controlled by 0.1% is orders-of-magnitude worse than any natural power distribution. This is why I am both supporting Steem but also contemplating making a competitive project which is more fairly launched with other better design attributes. But I am also not sure yet, because Steem has a first mover advantage. But the actual active userbase of Steem appears be only about 5000 thus far which is microscopic in terms of social networking. See the blog post I made about the rise and fall of Ello for example. So apologies to tell you there is still some competition going on amongst us although I also want to be part of cooperative system. Today I registered the domain cooprate.com.

I upvote U

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.5 and reading ease of 84%. This puts the writing level on par with Jane Austen and JK Rowling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52