You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hope for the artist: Will you help an artist out?

in #steemit7 years ago

Fair enough. I appreciate your comment. I hate the spamming as well. My idea was sort of: sometimes we only want for lack of asking, and I thought it might be a way to reach a different group of people who otherwise might not see my work. But if this is just annoying to people.. it's not the right thing.

Sort:  

It's not annoying me, but it's not reflecting my idea of an artists reputation and the way how to create attention. Let me give you an example of what I mean: You now the "Yiruma - River flows in you". That's modern classical popmusic with millions but millions of clicks and likes. By taking a closer look it's just consisting on four chords and any idiot can play it on the piano after watching a youtube tutorial. I suggest as simple as it's structure, as simple is it's meaning and as popular it is because even a simple minded one can get it.

Compare it to Bach, which at least is well known too and undeniable much greater artist than "Yiruma", but now compare the likes they get!

Bourdieu did much research about the relation between cultural/social behaviour and artistic judgement if you'd like to go deeper with it in a scientific way.

Having much likes (upvotes) and followers does not equal the quality of art, it equals the popularity of your art. For me popularity mostly means simplicity (in a questionable way). And being popular and at the same time a great artist is a thin line.

This is why I look forward to hearing from you more.

It is a tough line. My work musically isn't going to be remotely Bach. It is simple. But simplicity isn't the same thing as dumb, especially (for me anyway) when you throw in quality lyrics and a voice that you've worked really hard on developing. So the delivery becomes a huge artistic element.

Some popularity, however, is needed for the artist to eat. That doesn't necessarily involve compromise. But it does mean we have to fight to get our work in front of as many people as possible so we can find the ones who appreciate what we do.

Lots more to say but.. needing to pack and travel so have to go.

You're absolutely right! Therefore I am investing in crypto, it pays me being an artist;) Just kiddin...got a real job. Wishing you a safe travel

This IS my "real" job! Lol.

Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65895.15
ETH 2679.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93