Six More Weeks of Winter... Thanks Phil!

in #steemit6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Yesterday was groundhogs day and I am sad so say Phil the famous groundhog saw his shadow. So six more weeks of winter to come. I can't wait for spring!

Every February 2nd the famous groundhog Punxsutawney Phil comes out of his hole in a small town in Pennsylvania. If he see's his shadow then it is a sign that there will be six more weeks of winter. I learned in school yesterday that this is a 132 year long tradition. That's a long time!

This is something we read in school....

Here is Phil from Yesterday Feb. 2nd 2018... Looks like they are feeding him very well!

We had Fun at School... 

We even got to do some Groundhog Coloring...

Everyone had a great time in class... I like groundhogs day at school

There is even a funny movie about Groundhogs Day with an actor Bill Murry.

TRIVIA.... Did you Know.... Groundhogs and Woodchucks are the same animal just different names they are called sometimes.

Stay Warm...

I hope you had a good Groundhogs Day!

Thank you for visiting my Corner!


Sort:  

I feel lucky that I'm in a warm climate. This winter has been pretty cold for most of the country.

On February 2 each year, the town of Punxsutawney celebrates the legendary groundhog with a festive atmosphere of music and food. I like that music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80