You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5000 STEEM POWER and 125 followers reached. A few thoughts so far: The Good, the Bad and the Mediocre

in #steemit8 years ago

The real anarchist social media is Disapora. Steemit is more like a libertarian experiment. I am mostly here for the money, but does of course also appreciate some of the content, the good comments I get on my posts, the view into the bizarre pizzagate community, and among scam&spam the good friendly people that are also here.

For an anarchist I think that you have quite a penchant for centralised punitive measures :) Instead I think you should just start helping out for example in the Steemabuse channel. I have from time to time helped and do not see their voluntary efforts as corrupt in any way. It is true that there are not many strict guidelines... but you know that is what anarchism is all about. If you want to change things you have to get involved...

As for the underlying structures that Steemit are build on you could definitely criticise them for creating power-centralisation which is contrary to any anarchist view (except maybe the most junglelawish anarcho-capitalists.) But I guess they do fight to create a model that would favourize quality content. It's just... Money and quality are, in my experience at least, not analogue at all.

I still agree with you on many points. Steemit is like every other social media just a vehicle for society as is, and your examples of bad posts are hilarious (but true :)

Sort:  

Very Interesting , I've only had good experiences here , but I neglect the bad and even stay away from it. Almost all of my "networking" has been around interests and I don't subscribe to the easy bucks, so I'm missing out on value , but with time everything stacks up.

Analysis apart, I have too. The fact that fast, low quality entertainment trumps more complex stuff is kind of an old realisation for most artists (like me), so I do not really get angry about it. I just post what I got, and am happy for what I get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43