You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Could Steemify save starving musicians all over the world?

in #steemit8 years ago

A very good post about something that really concerns me. I am a pictoral artist but have friends in the music business that really suffered from the internet. Also the problems of the music-business is applicable to all media that can be digitalised.

I think that using the steem-platform and the soon to come other similar platforms like Yours, Synereo, and Akasha to get some value back from all the work is what we need to do. I am here to check it out and it already gives me some value for my free artworks and webcomic.

There is one other project that I think you should check out. It is also blockchain based and is called Alexandria.io. I think that it can be used together with Steem and it's sisters, both as a mean to validate your content, to host your content and to present an additional way of tipping. The content is shared via bit-torrent in a player that should be possible to embed on a page like this, and when you put up music on the Alexandria library it works as a copyright timestamp that you can use as validation.

Alexandria is very much in development but I have added an artwork and plan to experiment with more. If you are interested the developers are very keen to discuss the project on a Slack.

So... Alexandria is not a competitor to Steemit. It helps you to take control of your own material and to embed it where ever you want for instance Steemit (instead of using a youtube channel.)

Sort:  

very cool. Great resource .. in a way it's exciting, we're at the birth of a whole mechanism... it's going to happen, because as cool as artist seem to be with it online, it's a disaster out there... the more business-minded are finding ways to prosper... but when have we ever equated the terms 'business minded & artist" haha. Maybe that's the evolution.. that's okay too. but it's put us in a place that the artist shouldn't be , at odds with their own fans. I brifely checked out Alexandria , i'll for jump in and learn more.

Yes, tell me about it. Even the mainstream artists need to work their butt of touring and there is no money to create new material. The smaller genres are a massacre. But I am hopeful that a new mentality amongst user and the technology can maybe turn this around.

Fingers crossed.

I'm signed up now.. I'll try it out for some good time and post the results I find.

Great, it is very much a alpha release so use slack to ask if you can't make it work. They are very helpful and interested in having people use it. And I'll give you some florincoins if you need them to get started

God bless you. Will defnently check it out ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76