1 year on Steemit - creative commons & crypto currenciessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Now it is my turn to write the obligatory 1 year post - in itself maybe not that interesting... so I will write about something else.

For some years now I have, under the pseudonym Katharsisdrill, created digital artwork published as Creative Commons, which means that it is completely free both to use, modify and sell. I did create a Patreon and later a Liberapay subscription-account, but until now none of them has really paid me much.

What has worked for me is crypt-currencies.


Janus, The Roman God of the new year.

The first bitcoins I owned was a generous donation from a user of the free decentralised social network Diaspora (@herzmeister) and I used them to make an anonymous account here on the Steemit using @someguy123's Anonsteem.

I have indeed made some money on Steemit, but having bitcoin addresses also gave me a possibility for direct donations which has also paid quite well, mainly because of the Alexandria.io project.

The truth is that artists have been suffering from the ways of the internet and only now does it really look like there will be hope for creating directly for the internet again. Most artist I know have returned to old media like vinyl-LP, hand-print and painting. The internet is merely seen as a failing marketing platform. A bit sad to see for an old cyberpunker like me.

So I am following the development of all the different projects that are being made based on block-chain database and encryption with big interest, and even though I am not sure which one will work there is no doubt that Steemit until now has been the one that has worked best - mainly because it is free to use and do not demand that people pays out of their own pocket.


Another Janus image

I believe that the approach where people pay directly for content they like in many ways is the most healthy, but also the one that is farthest away from the rather unhealthy every-thing-for-free mentality that dominates the current internet. Thanks to Facebook and Google people has gotten used to unknowingly paying with a complete stripping of their private life.

But I am, for the first time in many years, optimistic on behalf of art on the internet, and Steemit has been a great introduction to the new possibilities. I have been happy to be here and happy for all the comments, support, translations of my comic etc.

Building a community on-line is a large undertaking and the people who dares go outside of the ugly mainstream is pioneers. So it has been a fun and instructive experience to write, draw and invent stories for you.

Sort:  

Well this is awkward. It's my one year too, 13 moons today!

Love your post though, and bruh, blockchain and decentralize everything.

Keep an eye on OpenBazaar for buying and selling goods, they are becoming crypto-coin agnostic, meaning they are for ALL CRYPTOS and integration directly for any coin that wants in can join, and for now they already got @shapeshiftio going (they just came out with the Beta yesterday, go check it out)

Bisq, this used to be known as http://bitsquare.io - Unfortunately to have a good crypto exchange you need to have volume, but hopefully that is something being built, it is definitely a project you should keep an eye on too, also coin agnostic.

Dropbox is being done away with things like Sia or Storj with hopefully even better solutions on the horizon.

Music and movies and other media, look at LBRY, DTube, DSound.

Lots of great things going on right now, hope you keep up with things and find a way to work in your arts through it all. I think the best artists are existing with themselves irl and digital, I say that because a majority of comic book artists basically walk this line, huge huge social presence, and then huge huge irl presence as well. Can't wait for a non-blockchain based on jumps in to these places heavier and starts supporting some of the artists on the digital side. I follow at least 10 people I would rather be buying comic books written or drawn by than a lot of what is out to the general public.

Thanks for all the blockchain links. Bisq sounds very interesting - but sadly both open-bazaar and Bisq is .deb-centric while I use rpm :(

I will use this autumn to try to gather how I best use the internet, right now I am a bit weakened by my boycott of the mainstream social media.

I think there are many OB users of many different flavors of Linux and from what I am reading, the rpm to deb is not an overall issue with something called Alien:
https://www.reddit.com/r/OpenBazaar/comments/4c1zyg/no_rpms_how_to_install_on_fedora/

Unrelated, someone made a decent comment ".debs are for Ubuntu/Debian Linux, not "Linux", the download page should say "Ubuntu" https://www.reddit.com/r/OpenBazaar/comments/5eco1t/debs_are_for_ubuntudebian_linux_not_linux_the/

Nothing is going to be big until things are one click install so grandma can do it, but for now hopefully they will at least tweak little things like the wording above or provide more packages, at the least though members of the OB community do seem to be different enough where others had this hiccup too

Congrats my friend, what a year - It's been great to have you here.

Yes! You too. I'm glad to have meet you in the virtual way.

Congratulation on year first Steemit year.

Are you ready to continue Phill from GCHQ?

Thank you Vincent, I am working on it now actually. Paid work and feebleness has delayed it.

Congratulations and well done for keeping going regardless. I'm glad you're getting some success here and feeling optimistic :)

There's interesting times ahead no doubt, and I'm optimistic. Thanks :)

God is, even though the whole world deny him. Truth stands, even if there be no public support. It is self-sustained.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulation...
Success is always for you @katharsisdrill...

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.

Congratulations my cyberfriend! I really couldn't imagine this place without you and your inspiring work. I'm very thankful for the ability to get in contact, collaborate and interchange with artists like you. I'm sure everything, that we're experiencing and doing has a reason and will payoff. So hopefully we're the pioneers of a new wave of online artists, that will be able to make a living of what we're loving! Keep it up and I'm looking forward to getting back on the Phill-translation-track.

...did it ever occur to you that it might be your "digital" images that are the main reason why it didn't work for you...just an idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42