How to Save, Edit, Share, Preview your Steemit Posts (Easily) using Hackmd.io

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Where do you draft your steemit posts? Do you use a markdown editor?

I used to write in a word document (directly in markdown), but in April, a friend suggested hackmd.io.

Since, then, all my posts are firstly written in hackmd.io. I take the time to write and preview them there prior to pasting them in steemit and publish them.

This article is meant to help you save time and to introduce a new way for saving, editing, previewing and if necessary sharing your steemit article (before publishing it)

You can see my Mark Down Guide for a quick reference to basic syntax used to format steemit posts.


What is hackmd.io?

HackMD is a realtime, multi-platform collaborative markdown note editor.
This means that you can write notes with other people on your desktop, tablet or even on the phone.
You can sign-in via multiple auth providers like Facebook, Twitter, GitHub and many more on the homepage.
source

Do I need to create an account to use hackmd.io?

(in regards to steemit posts)


Not necessarily. You can sign in via a social media account of yours (I have used my twitter account) or you can just create a note as a Guest.

If you wish to create an account (that will help you to keep drafts saved) you can click on sign in and choose the desired method)

What can I do using hackmd.io?



(1) You can write and preview your text at the same time

(2) You can save drafts and edit as many times before you paste them in steemit

(3) You can share the link with other people to view or edit, prior to publishing your post.

How can I retrieve a previously saved post / draft?



When you enter https://hackmd.io/recent you see your recent files and you can search any previous piece you had been creating.
hack4.jpg

Start Here - Create a New Note



Click on New Guest Note + or New Note + at the top right of your screen.

A screen divided in two parts will appear and the address will look something like this >> https://hackmd.io/hw0Rud_TTKGB0fS7wgHUsA?both

hack2.jpg

You can write directly on the left and anything you type, will appear formatted at the screen on your right.


223.jpg

If you do not remember the MarkDown Syntax, you can click on the symbols on the top left of your screen for doing bold, italics, strike-through text or even for inserting

quotes

links

Column 1Column 2Column 3
TextTextText

You can hover your mouse over each symbol if you do not remember what they stand for


Important Note: I prefer to upload images on steemit and not on hackmd.io, to make sure they will appear correctly

Views



You can view only the editor, a split screen with both the editor + preview or if you click the eye you view your creation as a whole!

hack6.jpg

Permissions


  • Freely - Anyone can edit
    Your file will be open so anyone, guest or user, can enter and do edits

  • Editable - Signed-in people can edit
    Only someone who is signed-in can edit your file. However guests can view it too if they have the link

  • Limited - Signed-in people can edit (forbid guests)
    Nobody can view the file, except of signed-in users

  • Locked - Only owner can edit
    Guests and signed in users can view it but only owner can make changes

  • Protected - Only owner can edit (forbid guests)
    Only signed-in users can view and noone can make edits but the owner

  • Private - Only owner can view & edit
    No one can view but the owner


You can also transfer ownership or delete the note by clicking the respective command

Play Time!



I intentionally leave this post to be freely edited by anyone (you can visit as a guest or as a signed in user)

Feel free to edit or add anything :) Click here


Extra Tip 1: If you are sharing the link with someone, it cannot hurt if you keep an extra copy of your written text somewhere

Extra Tip 2: Always after publishing an article, check its appearance to see if everything is as it was supposed to




Thank you for visiting and reading! What tool do you use to craft your posts and why? Let me know in the comments!

Steemit Guide for Beginners | Everything about using images | Quality Articles on steemit

Sort:  

methodical madness

I just write it in my iOS notes in markdown format (script?) - it doesn’t preview and I like that.

Next or at some point, I edit photos and add them to the notes file to get a raw view of the image within the text; and also to a separate folder on my phone, so they are gathered in one location and easy to find when I want to upload them.

Then I review/edit the text in the notes file several times or as necessary.

Then I copy paste it to Steemit, check text and upload photos.

Then I review/edit it all one last time and hit post.

...

Then when I find more errors after posting, I flip a coin to see whether or not I should revise it.


Hackmd.io:

I feel like the extra step in bringing it to another place where I can preview it will just add one more step to the editing process. It won’t feel like the final version for me until I see the preview on Steemit and thus I’ll be revising it regardless at that point.


(@katayah check this out... is this what you[’ve] use[d]?)

Hey thanks for mentioning me in this interesting post! I use https://steemwriter.learnthis.ca/ which is very nice and light but it doesn't have the option to log in and view the saved drafts from a different browser. The app is still life-changing for me but the lack of flexibility is a slight drawback for me since I prefer to write on my laptop but sometimes if I have extra 10 minutes I could work on a post from my phone. I might check hackmd.io out. Since you post only from your phone there is no need for you to use either of the apps I think. :)

I always enjoy your tutorial @katerinaramm. Another cool piece here. Thanks for sharing. Meanwhile, other than the RED colour which a lot of users make use of to enhance post headers or titles, is any other colour available? Blue? Yellow? Purple? You get the picture?

Thanks for visiting @rickie!

Actually your question was my question for a long time ..

I had done an extensive search a couple of months back, only to discover that only red color was available. Anything I tried for other colors was not possible.

However, if I come up with something new regarding that I will get back to you : )

Ok, thanks. I'd appreciate that.

Thank you @katerinaramm this post is very helpful, you're too kind and I enjoyed this post, it's very helpful.

εντάξει, δε ήξερα ότι υπάρχει τέτοιο πράγμα!!!!
Καλημέρα, και καλές βουτιές στη θάλασσα αν πάτε!! :)))))

Καλημέρα! Περιμένουμε βροχή (υποτίθεται..)

Irthes sti geitonia mou k den mou topes ? Edw pera brexei πολύ... But it literally seems to have just stopped...

I am a heavy user of hackmd.io now.

Thanks for this article. We can share it with newcomers, not just in #steemSTEM. I think entry of steemit has increased the usage of hackmd. :P

Hello Katerina!

I use https://steemwriter.learnthis.ca/ but sometimes I just work on a post from the steemit editor. I don't like too much markdown in posts, it looks messy to me when there is more than just images, headers and some bold/italic as necessary in my posts, so it doesn't really bother me if I don't see the preview right away but I do care about saving drafts because I'm a mess when it comes to starting and not finishing. 😄
I start a bunch of posts and then I work on them simultaneously. I ditch some of them. I rewrite others. Just a back and forth scenario. I wish steemit had a built in option to save multiple drafts - then it would be ideal.
Kali sou mera!

Hi @katyah!
Thanks for joining my comments section :)
It seems a nice tool too, thanks for sharing!
After using hackmd, I actually enjoy seeing the preview + it is saving me (some) time :)
I think that steemit has a looong way till it reaches user-friendliness but still .. we can't help loving it
Thanks again :)

I'm waiting for my voting strength to be replenished--will get back to you later, but wanted to comment. This seems to be a helpful tool. I wouldn't want others editing my work, or even seeing it before I'm satisfied. I'm sort of fastidious about my writing--that doesn't mean the writing is good. I just tend to obsess (about a lot of things). So, I'm glad there's the private option. What does hackmd.io get out of it? How does this benefit the creators of the site? Or does it?
Anyway, an interesting, possibly useful concept. I will surely check it out. Thanks for sharing.

It's good, but I don't know yet, how to resize images in it. The div tag wasn't working. 🤔

I use images only in steemit to be honest ...

Check out this post to see how images are resized on steemit platform, it might come handy

: )

And thanks for visiting!

I know how to do in steemit editor.
Thanks anyways.

A nice little tool. I prefer to use Notepad++ and dropbox to edit directly in markdown, but that's terrible for collaborative authoring or sharing early drafts, which this seems to be perfect for.

Nice review @katerinaramm. I've been using StackEdit.io it's free also, seems to be a little limited compared to what you're saying. I'll have to go give this a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85